All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Ask general questions here.
manishrn91
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:26 am

All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by manishrn91 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:45 am

Hello All,

I am using desktop application and trying to access element data from the table.
While running the test cases I have observed that all rows are not visible/accessible from the table.
When I edit the table in spy it sometimes shows the correct amount of rows and sometimes shows less amount of rows.

When number of rows are less than 21 then it works fine, once rows count goes above 21 it doesn't work.
Is there way to get the all rows from the table ?


Thanks

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:00 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately, there is not enough details in your post to provide an adequate answer. Please answer the following questions:

Ranorex version?
GUI technology under test (.net, java, wpf, flash, desktop/mobile,...)?
Please post a Ranorex snapshot (not SCREENSHOT) of the table in question. Ideally, post two snapshots depicting the situation with different table rows.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Martin
Posts: 152
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 12:24 pm

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by Martin » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:28 pm

Depends a lot on the technology and how the data is presented.

For example it's a common problem in SAP. Only a specific amount of rows is filled with data and anything from that point on is called for when there is a need for it. So it's not related to Ranorex nor to any other automation platform.

2 possible solutions that I use:

1) Get the data straight from database
2) build a for cycle for the table that takes the data from those 21 lines, then moves to the next 21 lines and repeats itself until finished

But yeah try to understand the logic behind how the data is actually loaded. Sometimes it's as easy as just moving to the next row and all of the rows not presented will show up. But again it depends very much on the technology the AUT uses.

For specific assistance try to always be very precise when posting a message for help. (Technology UT, AUT, Snapshot, Ranorex versions, Windows version etc + any other relevant info you might think of).

manishrn91
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:26 am

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by manishrn91 » Fri Aug 19, 2016 11:02 am

Hi

I am using Ranorex version 6.0.1, the table which I am referring is of WPF.

@Martin:
1) Get the data straight from database:
Can not use this approach as we need to do it through UI.

2) build a for cycle for the table that takes the data from those 21 lines, then moves to the next 21 lines and repeats itself until finished:
Total count of rows come as 21 when UI contains rows above 21 and sometimes it works perfectly fine by showing all the rows.
Is it related data loading in wpf control ?
Please see the attachced screenshot of control propertise.

@odklizec:
I will upload the snapshot soon :)



Thanks and Regards,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by Support Team » Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:50 am

Hi manishrn91,
Total count of rows come as 21 when UI contains rows above 21 and sometimes it works perfectly fine by showing all the rows.
Is it related data loading in wpf control ?
Yes, many WPF containers only load as much children as possible to display. You could try to use the "Realize Items in Virtualizing Containers" in order to force all data to be loaded

Global Settings -> Plugins -> WPF
RealizeItems.png
Hope this information helps.

Sincerely,
Robert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

manishrn91
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:26 am

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by manishrn91 » Tue Aug 23, 2016 2:39 pm

Hi All

I found one work around in which we need to use Mouse.ScrollWheel(-100), that will move your screen/scroll bar down (move it till the end of table) and from there you can get the all row data.

Thanks :)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: All rows are not accessible/Visible in a table.

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:59 am

Hi manishrn91,

I'm glad that you could find a workaround.

Sincerely,
Robert