Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
htrudel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:40 am
Contact:

Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by htrudel » Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:25 pm

During execution of test recordings, my Android device (emulator) status reported by Ranorex in the Devices windows changed to Error. I tried to refresh its status in Ranorex and after 2-3 seconds, it goes back to Error.

I tried all of the following without success:
  • Restarting our Android App.
  • Restarting the Android emulator.
  • Restarting the Ranorex Android Automation Service.
  • Restarting adb server.
  • Restarting Ranorex Studio.
I then tried simply to logoff/logon to my computer (no reboot), restart the Android emulator, Ranorex studio, and now it works again.

Understanding/Fixing this issue is very important to us since we plan using an equivalent setup to run test automatically at night.

Addition: I forgot to mention that I tried to start the browser in the Android emulator and it did not work. It as if the network connection stopped working (and required logoff/logon in order to be functional again). Thus, not a problem with Ranorex but happened while using Ranorex.
Hugo Trudel
Software Engineer
Distech Controls Inc

lilyjoin
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:23 am

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by lilyjoin » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:10 am

When trying to run/debug an Android app on a real device (Galaxy Samsung S in ... spaces, according to Failed to install apk on device 'emulator-5554': timeout.
allmobilespec.com

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by Support Team » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:26 am

Hi,

In order do analyze your issue, please provide following information:

Which Ranorex version to you use?
Which emulator do you use?
Which Android version do you use?

With this information we can check if there are any known issues which may be already solved and if your current Ranorex version fully supports your Android version.

Thank you in advance!

@lilyjoin

Did you follow the steps in the Android Documentation.
Did you install the Ranorex Service App on your emulator device? If you've done so, can you see the id for the simulator inside the Device Wizard?


Regards,
Robert

htrudel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:40 am
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by htrudel » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:16 pm

Hi,

I am using Ranorex version 4.1.5.17134.

Android Emulator:
  • Nexus S (it is the most stable emulator).
    CPU/ABI: Intel Atom (x86)
    Version 4.3 (API level 18)
    Android SDK Manager - Intel x86 Atom System Image rev.1.
Again, I think the issue is not related to Ranorex. It looks more like an emulator issue.
Hugo Trudel
Software Engineer
Distech Controls Inc

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by Support Team » Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:34 pm

Hi htrudel,

As you already mentioned this issue is not related to Ranorex. There were currently no similar cases reported to us. We on our part aren’t able to reproduce such a behavior neither. Nevertheless, there may be some other users which experienced the same behavior willing to help you further.

Regards,
Robert

htrudel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:40 am
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by htrudel » Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:00 pm

Thanks.

We are currently evaluating Genymotion Android emulators to see if they are more stable.
Hugo Trudel
Software Engineer
Distech Controls Inc

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:37 pm

Hello,

Is anyone using Genymotion? I have some VD running, but when I try to find them in Device Manager>Android>Emulator nothing is listed.

All devices are in developer mode and all other settings recommended by User Guide.

Ranorex Studio 5.2
Emulated device:
Sony Xperia Tablet S Android 4.1.1 API 16 (1280*800, 160dpi)

Thank you,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

htrudel
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:40 am
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by htrudel » Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:00 pm

Hi,

Our developers here are using Genymotion with some success.

But in test automation, since there is so many inconsistencies with the emulator, we are now running our nightly tests using a real tablet. We found that

I personally use the emulator only when I need to develop/troubleshoot a test automation recording.
Hugo Trudel
Software Engineer
Distech Controls Inc

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:00 am

Hi Hugo and thank you.

The issue that I face is that the emulator is not found by Ranorex. So I cannot connect and at least try it.

Best regards,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:56 pm

Hi,

I've finally managed to connect my Genymotion emulator, but via Network Connection not via USB.
After the selection of the emulator in Network Connection list it remained disconnected. Then I've edited the IP (in Genymotion you have the IP of the emulated device right on top bar of the window).
And it's working fine.

Kind regards,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

gilbar16
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 6:23 pm

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by gilbar16 » Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:36 pm

lucian.teodorescu wrote:Hi,

I've finally managed to connect my Genymotion emulator, but via Network Connection not via USB.
After the selection of the emulator in Network Connection list it remained disconnected. Then I've edited the IP (in Genymotion you have the IP of the emulated device right on top bar of the window).
And it's working fine.

Kind regards,
Lucian
Hi,

I don't quite get this why connect via USB or Network instead of Emulator.
Is this because this is from an older version of Ranorex?

Thanks.
Gilbert

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Post by Support Team » Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:56 am

Hello Gilbert,

Whether the emulator is listed in the emulator section within the Instrumentation Wizard depends on how your emulator is accessible. All emulators which are accessible via localhost:XXXX are usually listed within the emulator section, but they can also be added using the, e.g., USB section.

Kind regards,
Robert