Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by carsonw » Tue Nov 03, 2015 11:12 pm

Soon we'll be upgrading to Visual Studio 2015 / ReSharper 10. Has anyone been using Ranorex with Visual Studio 2015? We're using 2013 right now without any issues.

Has anyone run into any problems? Thanks!

Carson.

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by carsonw » Wed Mar 02, 2016 6:56 pm

It looks like Ranorex doesn't understand null propagation, which Visual Studio 2015 does:

This is ok:

if (Command.Connection != null)
{
Command.Connection.Close();
}

But this is not:

Command.Connection?.Close();

I'm not sure if there are other "gotchas" lurking about, but there's one at least...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 04, 2016 4:27 pm

Hello Carson,

I'm not exactly sure, if I understand the problem correctly.
I opened a Ranorex Studio project in Visual Studio 2015, selected the .NET Framework version 4.6.1 and the propagation works as expected.
To be honest, it doesn't look like a Ranorex issue since you are using Visual Studio.
Please let me know if I understand something wrong.

Regards,
Bernhard

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by carsonw » Sat Mar 05, 2016 1:28 am

Hi there - basically I can build the solution in Visual Studio 2015 just fine, but if I build it in Ranorex it errors out on the line of code. If I change it to the code I mentions, it builds correctly

carsonw
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 10:01 pm

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by carsonw » Sat Mar 05, 2016 2:07 am

Here's another one:

Visual Studio 2015:

using static System.String;

Builds... in Ranorex it fails

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by krstcs » Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:40 pm

OK, so the issue is that Ranorex STUDIO doesn't support null propagation, not that Ranorex in Visual Studio doesn't support it?

This is probably because Ranorex Studio is built on Sharp Develop 3.2, which does not support some syntax from newer versions of .NET. It may still compile just fine for some things, but you won't have code completion and syntax highlighting for newer constructs.

Are you sure you have set the Ranorex Studio projects to use .NET 4.5? I think 4.5 is the highest that Ranorex Studio supports. Although, I don't thing 4.5 supports null propagation, I think that is only in .NET 4.6, so that may be your issue. Same thing with the static using directive.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by odklizec » Mon Mar 07, 2016 2:56 pm

The good thing is that the Ranorex Studio is going to be updated (hopefully) soon with much more recent SharpDevelop 4.x. This should bring us also enhanced compatibility with more recent .Net versions. It seems the next major Ranorex version is right behind the door?...
http://www.ranorex.com/company/product-roadmap.html
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Any using Visual Studio 2015 / Any Issues?

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:47 pm

Hello everybody,

It's correct that we are currently working on a new version, but the issue is more related to the version of MSBuild.
In order to allow null propagation you would need MSBuid 14.0.
In general it is possible to use a higher version of MSBuild already with the current of Ranorex.
However, I don't really want to post this workaround into our forum because this is not really supported.
Please send an email to [email protected] in order to get more information.

Regards,
Bernhard