Automation Helpers not found

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Wed Oct 13, 2021 11:28 pm

Just upgrade from 9.3.4 to 10.1.2 and my automation helpers are missing. When I tried to add them, I get this message:
automationHelpersError.png
Where did I go wrong?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by odklizec » Thu Oct 14, 2021 6:39 am

Hi,

I just tried to add automation helpers and it worked flawlessly. So I assume it's something related just to your PC/network? Could you please share details about the error? Also, have you tried to add helpers to fresh new solution?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Thu Oct 14, 2021 6:21 pm

So the icon disappeared and while the folder is still part of the project, Ranorex feels it can't be found. Not sure what to do at this point.
helperMissing.png
helpersFolder.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 454
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by Fergal » Mon Oct 18, 2021 4:55 pm

If you go to the context menu of the Ranorex Automation Helpers folder (within your Ranorex Projects view), then Add > Existing Item - can you add the required automation helper files from there? I don't know if that will work and am not sure it will not cause some issues to your solution, so it would probably be best to create a backup of your solution before trying it.

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Wed Oct 20, 2021 2:05 pm

So right now I can run test cases and suites, but can run individual recordings. When I try to run a recording, I get an error. These are recordings that are part of the test case, so not sure what is going on there.

I will give the adding a shot. I checked everything in before I started messing with the upgrade because there are a TON of changes I need to make.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Wed Oct 20, 2021 6:04 pm

That totally worked! I was able to add existing, then remove the one it said it couldn't find including references and now not only are my build errors gone, but I can run individual recordings again. Thank!

I still have a ton of remapping to do, but at least I can build and run now.

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Fri Oct 22, 2021 6:29 pm

Ha, so close and yet so far.

No way to resolve conflict between "Ranorex Automation Helpers, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" and "Ranorex Automation Helpers". Choosing "Ranorex Automation Helpers, Version=0.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null" arbitrarily. (MSB3243) - C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\Enterprise\MSBuild\Current\Bin\Microsoft.Common.CurrentVersion.targets:2084,5

Where does one even get 0.0.0.0 versions these days? :D

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Mon Oct 25, 2021 5:55 pm

Even if I remove and readd, it still can't find it at runtime. What's next?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by odklizec » Tue Oct 26, 2021 7:18 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, I really don't see what could be a cause of your problems with automation helpers. They work flawlessly for me. All I can suggest is to try completely uninstall Ranorex and install it again. Then uninstall existing instance of helpers from your project and get them back. Also, have you tried to add helpers to a clean new project?

All your mysterious problems sounds like a project corruption or as if your system somehow blocks the helpers (antivirus in place?). Have you tried the same on different computer?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

dmconsulting1
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm

Re: Automation Helpers not found

Post by dmconsulting1 » Wed Oct 27, 2021 4:06 pm

So I tossed everything, cloned a new version of my project and for whatever reason, it is currently working. Not sure why it was having issues, not sure what all is different with this version of the project, but at least I got a clean copy of everything checked in before it went south. It is converting reports to PDF's and that is all I wanted.

Thanks for the help, hope for the best.