Bug when using Ranorex with Windows 11

Bug reports.
melodican
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:50 pm

Bug when using Ranorex with Windows 11

Post by melodican » Mon May 02, 2022 7:43 am

I recently encountered a strange behavior of Ranorex 10.1.7 on Windows 11.

On Windows 10 this simple test module looks like this:
Win10.PNG
Win10.PNG (9.32 KiB) Viewed 397 times
In the first line Set Value is used to define a path, in the seocnd line this path is validated.

On Windows 11 this test module looks like this:
Win11_01.png
Win11_01.png (10.36 KiB) Viewed 395 times
In the first line the text seems to be missing. But whe I click into the field, where the text should appear, the text appears in a strange location:
Win11_02.png
Win11_02.png (11.75 KiB) Viewed 395 times
Has anyone made similar experiences? Does Ranorex work under Windows 11?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7387
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Bug when using Ranorex with Windows 11

Post by odklizec » Mon May 02, 2022 11:01 am

Hi,

I'm afraid, I'm not experiencing anything like that on Windows 11? But I'm using an already released and then pulled back 10.2.0 ;) You may try it here:
https://www.ranorex.com/download/Ranorex-10.2.0.exe
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

melodican
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Bug when using Ranorex with Windows 11

Post by melodican » Tue May 03, 2022 6:54 am

Thanky for your answer. I'm a little bit reluctant concerning installing always the latest Rannorex version for 2 reasons:
a) the XPath bug in version 10.1.3 changing hunddreds of Xpaths (for which by the way still no solution seems to available)
b) obviously the Ranorex guys do not trust version 10.2 - why should I?

After doing some research I came to the conclusion, that Ranorex does not support Windows 11. When trying to report the bug via the support form, Windows 11 is not offered as operating system from the drop down list.

melodican
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2016 12:50 pm

Re: Bug when using Ranorex with Windows 11

Post by melodican » Fri May 13, 2022 2:03 pm

Just want to let you know that after re-installing Ranorex 10.1.7 twice and restarting the PC (twice) solved the issue.