Cannot identify elements during runtime in chrome

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
Deepeeca
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:42 am

Cannot identify elements during runtime in chrome

Post by Deepeeca » Fri Mar 10, 2023 4:34 am

Hi,

We have a desktop application that launches a survey in chrome. While running our tests through devops in a remote machine, we notice that the tests are failing the elements in chrome cannot be found. These tests are working fine on our local VM. I tried tracking this element through spy in the remote machine and was able to track it. The issue is happening only during runtime. So far, I have tried reinstalling ranorex, chrome and .NET. The browser is whitelisted and instrumented through chrome. Can someone help us in figuring out what could be the issue here?. I am attaching a snapshot of one of the failed element here.

Ranorex version - 10.5.1
OS - Windows 11
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Fergal
Certified Professional
Certified Professional
Posts: 455
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: Co Louth, Ireland
Contact:

Re: Cannot identify elements during runtime in chrome

Post by Fergal » Fri Mar 10, 2023 3:51 pm

You may have done this already, but if not, check that the Ranorex extension is installed correctly, on Chrome on the remote machine. If you are running the Chrome tests in Incognito mode, also check that the extension has the "Allow in Incognito" option checked.

dhale
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:33 pm

Re: Cannot identify elements during runtime in chrome

Post by dhale » Mon Mar 13, 2023 4:48 pm

I note that "We have a desktop application that launches a survey in chrome"
Which to me means that a first step would be to confirm that the remote debugging port in chrome is enabled.

Its likely that the remote debugging port may not be enabled in chrome if the application launching it isn't passing the following parameter to chrome:

Code: Select all

--remote-debugging-port=8081

Deepeeca
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:42 am

Re: Cannot identify elements during runtime in chrome

Post by Deepeeca » Fri Mar 17, 2023 12:41 pm

Thanks for your responses. I am able to get past this issue by deleting a creating a new user profile in Chrome.