Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Experiences, small talk, and other automation gossip.
Cliff
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:13 am

Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Post by Cliff » Tue Nov 03, 2020 12:38 am

Hello All,

I keep getting an error:
"Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set"

public void checkPos()
{
Data_drivenRepository myRepo = new Data_drivenRepository();

if (Equals(myRepo.Position_ComboBox.SelectedItemText, "Left"))
{
var TC = TestSuite.Current.GetTestContainer("DataPosition");
var min = TC.DataRange.MinRange = 0;
var max = TC.DataRange.MaxRange = 2;
TC.DataContext.SetRange(min,max);
}
}

I encountered the error above while running the scripts on test machine 1.
I copied the exact scripts and tried running it on test machine 2, the error is no longer observed.
So I deleted the scripts on test machine 1 and copied the working scripts from test machine 2 and the error occurred.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Post by odklizec » Tue Nov 03, 2020 8:19 am

Hi,

I've never saw such error before and there does not seems to be such problem discussed at this forum. So I guess it's something solution/machine specific? What Ranorex version do you use? Most recent version is 9.3.3. If you are using anything older, please update it. Also, could you please share the solution?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Cliff
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:13 am

Re: Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Post by Cliff » Wed Nov 04, 2020 12:36 am

Hello odklizec,
Thank you for the reply.

I'm currently using version 9.1. I also looked it up online and never saw such problem occurring to other users.
I'm afraid I cannot share the solution.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Post by odklizec » Wed Nov 04, 2020 8:15 am

Hi,

Well, without solution, there is nothing I or anyone else can do for you. All I can suggest, is to update your obsolete Ranorex 9.1 with most recent version 9.3.3 and try to reproduce the problem. Hopefully, it's something that has been fixed in later versions? Also, make sure there are installed all required libs on the target system.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Cliff
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2020 5:13 am

Re: Cannot set ‘MinRange’ of DataRangeSet because it is calculated from the data ranges contained in the set

Post by Cliff » Fri Nov 06, 2020 1:50 am

@odklizec

Thank you so much for the reply.
I greatly appreciate the help you provided.