Changing effective timeout

Ask general questions here.
KennyLewis
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:27 pm

Changing effective timeout

Post by KennyLewis » Thu Jun 19, 2014 9:36 pm

I am trying to change the effective timeout for a repository item, but it is grayed out.

The process completes, but has to sit and wait for the 1 minute to elapse before it continues. There is no delay set either, it seems to be the effective timeout section.

krstcs
Posts: 2683
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2012 4:14 pm
Location: Austin, Texas, USA

Re: Changing effective timeout

Post by krstcs » Thu Jun 19, 2014 10:03 pm

There is no way to directly edit the effective timeout.

The effective timeout of a repository object is the SUM of ALL parent repo-object search timeouts plus the object's search timeout.

So, you must edit each parent ROOTED-folder's and/or application's (form, dom, etc.) search timeout as well.

If you have a structure like this:

myDom (/dom[@domain='myDomain'])
----myBody (/body[#'body'])
--------myDiv (/div[@class='myDivClass'])

You would need to change the timeout for myDom, myBody, and myDiv in order to affect the effective timeout.

However, you should be careful with this because timing is one of the things that will cause tests to fail for seemingly no-reason and is hard to track down.

Since this is an automated test, unless someone is going to be sitting and watching it (which defeats the point :D ), you probably don't need to change the default timeouts except to make them larger.
Shortcuts usually aren't...

KennyLewis
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: Changing effective timeout

Post by KennyLewis » Fri Jun 20, 2014 12:38 am

That makes sense. Thank you!

Densiehurt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:31 am
Location: USA

Re: Changing effective timeout

Post by Densiehurt » Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:42 am

Yes Its a good concept to make an effective timeout for a particular structure to perform.