Code for ranorex class library to invoke remote agent

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
sindhu
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:01 pm

Code for ranorex class library to invoke remote agent

Post by sindhu » Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:08 pm

hi

i created ranorex class library in that i wrote all my test cases, and now i integrated that dll with visual studio project and i am trying to execute the test cases in remote machine.
Now those test cases in my local machine it is working fine. But how to work those in remote machine i am unable to do. i already installed agent in remote machine also.

can any one help??

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Code for ranorex class library to invoke remote agent

Post by odklizec » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:58 am

Hi,

I'm not quite sure if there is public API for remote test execution, but you should be able to achieve what you want via command line...
https://www.ranorex.com/help/latest/ran ... norexAgent
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

sindhu
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2019 2:01 pm

Re: Code for ranorex class library to invoke remote agent

Post by sindhu » Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:01 pm

hi

Thanks for reply.

through command line i can able to execute ranorex agent and i can run test cases in remote machine. But the same thing i want to do in code (class library).

Application1: from this application 1(Visual Studio) i will send some test cases to Application 2

Application 2: its a ranorex class library project which is having all the test cases script. From this project i want to call ranorex agent.

how ?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Code for ranorex class library to invoke remote agent

Post by odklizec » Wed Jul 17, 2019 1:12 pm

Hi,

If I'm not mistaken, there is currently no way (publicly available API) to achieve what you want from code. You can either do it via Ranorex Studio or command line. In other words, if you really want to do it from code, you have to implement command line execution in your test. In my opinion, you are trying to implement something, that would be much easier and much more reasonable to do via continuous integration.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration