Deployment of scripts

Ask general questions here.
ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Deployment of scripts

Post by ranoman » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:00 pm

I am looking to move my scripts from the box that I developed them on and move them over to other machines that run different versions of the application under test

Assuming that I have runtime licenses installed in each of the machines what are the files that I would need to copy over so that my scripts work of different machines

More precisely, should I be copying over my entire ranorex studio project over to all the new systems (which is how I am doing it now), or should it just be a smaller set of files. Or is there a better way to do this?

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Deployment of scripts

Post by Ciege » Wed Sep 01, 2010 11:13 pm

You should just need to only copy over the compiled .EXE file.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: Deployment of scripts

Post by ranoman » Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:01 am

That is what I thought as well. But when I just copy over the exe and try to execute it this is the error I get.

Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or ass
embly 'Common, Version=1.0.3894.20004, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null' or
one of its dependencies. The system cannot find the file specified.
File name: 'Common, Version=1.0.3894.20004, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null
'
at Execution.Program.Main(String[] args)

WRN: Assembly binding logging is turned OFF.
To enable assembly bind failure logging, set the registry value [HKLM\Software\M
icrosoft\Fusion!EnableLog] (DWORD) to 1.
Note: There is some performance penalty associated with assembly bind failure lo
gging.
To turn this feature off, remove the registry value [HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Fus
ion!EnableLog].

Actually, running the exe directly does not work for me unless it is in the context of my project files. In other words, running the exe works for me only when the exe is in the following location /RanorexStudio Projects/myproject/bin/debug/myproject.exe

Is there anything I am missing?

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Deployment of scripts

Post by Ciege » Thu Sep 02, 2010 12:24 am

Are you using Visual Studio or the Ranorex Studio?

I use VS. And have had no issues copying just the compiled .EXE to other machines.

That being said,
You do have a runtime (at least) or Ranorex installed on the other machine(s) yes?
You have .NET installed on the other machine(s)?
Do you have a reference to something called Common in your project? If yes, is it marked as copy local?

Edit:
Also if it is an issue with a common.dll or reference make sure that specific version is set to false.

See Here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/7wd6ex19.aspx
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Deployment of scripts

Post by Support Team » Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:42 am

Ciege is completely right, usually you only need to copy the compiled executable file to the target machine. That being said, you also have to copy all dependent files your executable needs, like text files it should read in or the DLLs of other projects you reference in your main executable.

I guess that you forgot to copy the "Common.dll" (a helper project containing common functionality?) to the target machine. Just put this file in the same directory as the main executable and then you should be able to start your tests.

What you need installed on the machine to execute your automation executables:
  • Microsoft .NET Framework 2.0 SP1
  • Ranorex Runtime Framework (the standard setup, but you can select not to install Ranorex Studio and Samples)
  • a valid Ranorex Runtime License
Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

ranoman
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2010 6:59 pm

Re: Deployment of scripts

Post by ranoman » Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:09 pm

Thanks Alex and Ciege!

I was just dropping the exe in a new system. When I drop in all the dll's I am referencing in my code it worked fine. Stupid mistake there :mrgreen: