Evaluating

Ask general questions here.
ecaldentey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:49 pm

Evaluating

Post by ecaldentey » Thu Nov 24, 2011 11:29 pm

Hello,

I'm currently trying to evaluate a tool that allow me to automate a task that i need to do many times during the day.

Basically the task is:
To Enter my login user and password onto a windows application.
The application connects to an ftp server and fills a data grid with old and new purchase orders.
The number of purchase orders is variable, so i have to scroll the grid to find all new orders.
I have to set a check mark on each new order and click a button to download them.
I need to enter directory path and a filename.

Is it possible to achieve this automation with RANOREX software?

If the answer is yes, is it possible to run multiple instances at the same time

Thanks in advance Esteban

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Evaluating

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:44 am

Hi,
Is it possible to achieve this automation with RANOREX software?
In general it is possible to achieve this with Ranorex, but to make sure that Ranorex fits all your needs we would suggest you to download the free trial version of Ranorex.
If the answer is yes, is it possible to run multiple instances at the same time
What do you exactly mean with multiple instances?
Do you mean multiple test programs running parallel on one machine, or on different VMs/machines ...?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team

ecaldentey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:49 pm

Re: Evaluating

Post by ecaldentey » Fri Nov 25, 2011 4:00 pm

Hello,

I have already downloaded the trial version.
Can you give me a little help on how to loop thought the rows of a data grid reading the cells values or do you have an example.

What do you exactly mean with multiple instances?
Do you mean multiple test programs running parallel on one machine, or on different VMs/machines ...?

I mean multiple test programs running parallel on one machine because i need to connect to multiple servers to download the purchase orders and i would like todo it at once.

Thank in advance,

Esteban

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Evaluating

Post by Support Team » Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:31 am

Hello,

Loop through a data grid:
I have an example based on the VIP Database here:

Create the path to the rows to your datagrid with the help of the Spy tool (e.g. path would be /form[@controlname='formVipApplication']/table[@controlname='dataGridView1']/row for the rows within the VIPDatabase example app) and add an item with this path to your repository (e.g. name it Rows).
repositoryRows.png
The following code sample will iterate through the rows, reporting the cell's text. Note, the first row contains the Headers, the last row is empty in this example.

Code: Select all

            var repo = ChristophDemoRepository.Instance;
            IList<Ranorex.Row> listRows = (repo.MyApp.RowsInfo.CreateAdapters<Ranorex.Row>() as IList<Ranorex.Row>);
            
            foreach (Ranorex.Row oneRow in listRows)
            {
            	foreach (Ranorex.Cell oneCell in oneRow.Cells)
            	{
            		Report.Log(ReportLevel.Info, oneCell.Text);
            	}
            }
}
For additional information about code examples, go to this link

Multiple Instances:
Ranorex is simulating user interactions, therefore, there is only one mouse and one keyboard available for automation.
It's possible to run multiple Ranorex Testsuites at the same time, as long as the testcases are not using the mouse or keyboard.
For multiple virtual machines, there is no problems (Ranorex Runtime Library is installed).

Best Regards
Martin
Ranorex Support Team

Therefor multiple
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ecaldentey
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 10:49 pm

Re: Evaluating

Post by ecaldentey » Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:04 pm

Hello,

My automation needs to use the mouse and keyboard because a need to click buttons and at least enter the password, so i think the solution for me is to run Ranorex in different virtual machines, do i need multiple licenses ?

Is it possible to run the Ranorex macro within a C# application (scripting), i mean the C# application writes the Ranorex macro on the fly, pass the parameters stored in a database, like the password, the filename for the file to be downloaded in the process, etc.???

Thanks in advance,

Esteban Caldentey

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Evaluating

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:07 pm

Hi,
ecaldentey wrote:Do i need multiple licenses ?
Running Ranorex scripts requires to have the Ranorex lib installed and to have at least a Ranorex Runtime license installed.
ecaldentey wrote:Is it possible to run the Ranorex macro within a C# application (scripting), i mean the C# application writes the Ranorex macro on the fly, pass the parameters stored in a database, like the password, the filename for the file to be downloaded in the process, etc.???
Basically you can perform data driven test scripts with Ranorex Studio as described in following chapter of our user guide:
Data-Driven Testing
But, as Ranorex is based on the Microsoft .NET Framework of course you can easily integrate Ranorex in Visual Studio as described in following chapter of our user guide:
Visual Studio Integration

Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Support Team