Execute script in 2 different systems

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
Rakesh123
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:18 pm

Execute script in 2 different systems

Post by Rakesh123 » Wed Sep 28, 2022 8:08 am

Hi,

I have a requirement.

E.g.: Step1: Login User in Chrome-System1
Step2: Login User in Chrome-System2

So, I will have one script and once I trigger the step1 need to be executed in System1 Chrome Browser and step2 need to be executed on System2 Chrome browser

Thanks,
Rakesh

dhale
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 7:33 pm

Re: Execute script in 2 different systems

Post by dhale » Wed Sep 28, 2022 4:01 pm

Sorry to tell you but there is no current way to synchronize testing between 2 different systems.
Without knowing more about what it is that you are trying to test, I'm going to speculate that what you are possibly trying to test is some form of interaction workflow between multiple users. What you may want to consider is to implement some form of programmatic API to simulate the 2nd system.

Rakesh123
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 2:18 pm

Re: Execute script in 2 different systems

Post by Rakesh123 » Thu Sep 29, 2022 6:13 am

Hi,

Actually the requirement is …
1.User1 logs in to chrome
2.User2 logs into Chromium edge
3.Test Email interaction between User1 and User2

The problem here is Ranorex plugin is same for both the browsers(Chromium and Chrome) and if we activate both the browsers Ranorex plugin doesn't work. Already raised this issue with Ranorex Support but the solution provided is Activate one browser at a time. And close the first browser and activate the other. But this will not work with our test cases

So what I was thinking is I will login one user in System1 and another in System2 so that Ranorex plugin issue will not be there.

Thanks,
Rakesh

csaszi89
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:10 pm

Re: Execute script in 2 different systems

Post by csaszi89 » Thu Sep 29, 2022 10:47 am

Hi,
I am not sure, but what if you create the following:
Test1: login to System1 with chrome
Test2: login to System2 with edge
Now, you create a code module for Test1 to be able to call Test2, something like this:

Code: Select all

var test2 = Process.Start("yourRanorexTestSuite.exe", "/tc:Test2 /agent:System2");
test2.WaitForExit();
Now, your System2 is set up and your Test1 can continue.
Of course, you should clean up System2 at the end.
I am not sure if it can work or not. Theoretically it does, but I assume it is not a good practice.
To be honest, I do not think UI test is the right option to test such scenarios.
Best regards,
Gyuri