Execution on Edge

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
theraviz
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:46 am

Execution on Edge

Post by theraviz » Fri Jun 17, 2022 4:15 pm

Hi,

My project was running successfully on IE but now when I have to change my browser to Edge the execution is not happening with my current solution.

If I start a new project using the same application it works fine on edge.

I have already instrumented the browser in the tools settings.

How can I make the existing solution to run on Edge? Is there any further configurations I have to do?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Execution on Edge

Post by odklizec » Mon Jun 20, 2022 12:32 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately, I'm not quite sure what exactly is the problem here? What you mean by "the execution is not happening with my current solution"? The Edge is not started or the test fails, because of some "element not found" errors?
Have you tried to examine the problematic web in Edge and with Ranorex Spy? Does Spy successfully identify DOM?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

theraviz
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2019 9:46 am

Re: Execution on Edge

Post by theraviz » Wed Jun 29, 2022 10:48 am

odklizec wrote:
Mon Jun 20, 2022 12:32 pm
Hi,

Unfortunately, I'm not quite sure what exactly is the problem here? What you mean by "the execution is not happening with my current solution"? The Edge is not started or the test fails, because of some "element not found" errors?
Have you tried to examine the problematic web in Edge and with Ranorex Spy? Does Spy successfully identify DOM?

Hi

Sorry for the delayed response. I’ll explain again.

I was working on win10 and IE. Now as IE is no more working I have to move my project execution to edge. But when I try to execute the same project which was working fine on IE is having issues with Edge. below are the observations

1) Execution is not working consistently on edge
2) when it is not consistent it means, while running the project it launches the browser but it won’t perform any action on the controls
3) if we spy it works fine
4) if we create a new project it works fine too. No problem in execution


Now please provide me a solution how I can use the existing project developed in IE to execute on edge without fail.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7465
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Execution on Edge

Post by odklizec » Wed Jun 29, 2022 10:59 am

Hi,

Well, I'm afraid, I don't have a clue what's wrong here. And unfortunately, without seeing the report and access to the test and app under test, it would be impossible to suggest something meaningful. So all I can suggest you is to contact Ranorex support and ask them for a remote session and help.

I recently transitioned one IE-based test to Chrome/Edge and aside of some IE-based form elements, all DOM-based operations worked OK. of course, this highly depends on the state of your repo. If the repo is nicely structured and elements have clean xpaths, with unique IDs, no indexes and no browser-dependent attributes, all should be OK.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration