Failed to find item for given path

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
bhomic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:40 pm

Failed to find item for given path

Post by bhomic » Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:29 pm

Hi,

I am new to Ranorex. I have a Silverlight App which I need to test. What I learned from the user guide and videos I recorded one test suite but keep getting this msg on playback.

Dont know how to figure it out.

Failed to find item 'TestSuiteRepository.WebDocument.InputTagUserName' within the specified timeout of 1m. No element found for path 'dom[@domain='IP Address']/body/form/div[@id='Div2']/div[2]/input[@id='UserName']' within 1m.
Show Stacktrace
at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.Find[T](Boolean findSingle, Boolean throwException) at Ranorex.Core.Repository.RepoItemInfo.CreateAdapter[T](Boolean throwException) at TestSuite.TestSuiteRepositoryFolders.WebDocumentCentricity_Imaging_AnalyAppFolder.get_InputTagUserName() in c:\..\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\TestSuite\TestSuite\TestSuiteRepository.cs:line 142 at TestSuite.Inquiry_View.Ranorex.Core.Testing.ITestModule.Run() in c:\..\Documents\Ranorex\RanorexStudio Projects\TestSuite\TestSuite\Inquiry_View.cs:line 84 at Ranorex.Core.Testing.TestSuiteModule.RunInternal(DataContext parentDataContext)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by Support Team » Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:51 am

Hi,

Have you checked if Spy finds the RxPath?
Would it be possible to send us a Ranorex Snapshot of the entire application to check if the RxPath exists?
Also take a look to following documentation
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... eouts.html

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

bhomic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by bhomic » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:44 pm

Hi,

I increased the wait time and it did work. Looks like Ranorex can serve our needs but I want more information about this tool.

Basically our application is more of a data driven rather than UI animations .It heavily uses sql server operations/calls and does all these through RIA services. Where can I get the information about data driven UI automation ?

Is there any way I can dump my test data through stored proc call through Ranorex and verify that data on playback ?

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by Ciege » Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:28 pm

bhomic wrote:Is there any way I can dump my test data through stored proc call through Ranorex and verify that data on playback ?
Since this is all done in standard .NET framework you can write your own code (C#, VB.NET) to call the stored procedure(s), output the result to any format you want (XML, text, Excel, et...) or even populate variables/arrays at runtime and use that data as your verification source.

Doing a quick Google search on "c# stored proc call" results in quite a few hits on how to use stored procedures in C#.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

bhomic
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2011 10:40 pm

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by bhomic » Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:38 pm

Thanks Ciege.

One more query on this.

So I write a method which executes store procedure. Where do I call this method before I start play back. Would it be at Repository intialization ?

Thanks again...

User avatar
Ciege
Posts: 1336
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:46 pm
Location: Arizona, USA

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by Ciege » Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:43 pm

Well , 1 thing I don't use is the repository, so I'm not quite sure where in code that lies...

I use all custom code with Visual Studio, not the Ranorex IDE. However, that should make little difference. I assume that if you need any item in the repository for accessing your backend data then you would need to have the repository initialized first. If you don't then there probably is no difference in what order they are done. You just need to have accessed your database data and stored the values so that they are available for verification before you actually begin the verification.

All of this can be done at runtime so that you will always have the most current test data and be able to even use different datasets on each successive run of your test code.
If this or any response has helped you, please reply to the thread stating that it worked so other people with a similar issue will know how you fixed your issue!

Ciege...

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Failed to find item for given path

Post by Support Team » Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:13 am

Hi,

have a look at following chapters of our user guide, which will explain you how to manage data driven tests and how to work with data connectors:

http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... sting.html
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... ctors.html
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... ector.html

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team