Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
puniar
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by puniar » Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:29 am

Hello,

There is an error which shows up for a set of Test Suites while executing through command line. However the same error seems not to be there for the rest of the test suites.

Error Message: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

In the machine where I give the execution doesn't have Excel Application installed, rather i use the Microsoft Access Database Engine 2010 Redistributable (Downloaded from https://www.microsoft.com/en-in/downloa ... x?id=13255).
I have tried execution in different machines and I see the same error.

Attached is the screen captured for the same.
Attachments
FailedtoLoadError.JPG
FailedtoLoadError.JPG (24.01 KiB) Viewed 1086 times
Regards,
Punith

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7422
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:57 am

Hi,

Excel data connector requires Microsoft Access Database Engine >=2013. So please, try to update the MS Access DB engine on your machines (with anything newer than 2013) and try it again. Hope this helps?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by puniar » Thu Aug 26, 2021 9:01 am

Hello Pavel,

I have installed the latest 2016 version (https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downloa ... x?id=54920). Yet i see the same error showing up.

The problem is I have other test suites which run on the same machine without any exception. And this particular test suite continues to fail with the same error in all the other VM's.
Regards,
Punith

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7422
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by odklizec » Thu Aug 26, 2021 9:04 am

Hi,

So there must be a difference in the excel files in the failing test suite? Have you tried to resave them with another Excel version? Eventually, check what's different about them.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

puniar
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 12:51 pm

Re: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by puniar » Wed Nov 17, 2021 8:10 am

Hello,

We have tried to change the Excel to a Binary version and Bind all the values,
Now we are seeing a new set of error with the following message,

Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load Excel data. Invalid bracketing of name 'ExcelConnector$'

Not able to identify the problem here, let alone the solution :?
Attachments
FailedExcelData.png
FailedExcelData.png (67.11 KiB) Viewed 716 times
Regards,
Punith

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7422
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Failed to get rows from data source: Failed to load excel data. Unspecified error

Post by odklizec » Thu Nov 18, 2021 10:11 am

Hi,

What happens, if you load the file directly in Ranorex Data connector window? Does it open OK? I assume the error happens both on dev. machine and any machine you eventually run the test on? Could you please share the screenshot of the data connector window (where is visible path to excel file). Also, could you please share the file?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration