Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
User avatar
Stub
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by Stub » Thu Jun 08, 2023 10:38 am

Our test machine today started failing to interact with the Firefox browser.

While investigating the problem I noticed that Firefox 114 was released the other day, so I checked my own machine which happened to be running Firefox 113 and hadn't updated yet. I tested Ranorex Spy on MY machine - Firefox 113 worked, DOM detected, everything nominal. Then I updated Firefox on my machine to this new 114 version. Immediately Ranorex Spy can no longer talk to Firefox via the Ranorex Automation add-in v1.3.5.

Yes, I realise this is now an out-of-date version of the Ranorex add-in, but I haven't had a chance to upgrade Ranorex lately.

kwalish
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2023 10:19 am

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by kwalish » Mon Jun 12, 2023 7:47 am

Stub wrote:
Thu Jun 08, 2023 10:38 am
... I realise this is now an out-of-date version of the Ranorex add-in...
I have the same problem, but I did not realize 1.3.5 add-in is out of date. I just downloaded the latest Ranorex Studio version 10.7 and the same 1.3.5 add-in came with it.
Please someone point me to the latest version of the Firefox add-in.

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by Stub » Mon Jun 12, 2023 8:15 am

Oh, we're still running Ranorex v10.1.6 because reasons, so I had assumed it was long out of date. The Ranorex Automation add-in is dated January 2022 IIRC... Yes, 3rd January 2022 it says. Hence I figured it had been updated since. So that'll save me from bothering testing a later build of Ranorex, thanks.

ddweber
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:13 am

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by ddweber » Tue Jun 13, 2023 8:14 am

I can confirm that the Firefox Extension does not work in Firefox 114 :!:
Reinstrumenting (also as admin), reinstalling Firefox, reinstalling RxStudio (10.7 or lower), clearing profiles and browser data does not help.
In taskmanager i can see that Firefox 114 does not start the Ranorex.Plugin.FirefoxMsgHost.exe as a child process as in previous versions like Firefox 113.

zapjok
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2023 10:52 am

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by zapjok » Tue Jun 13, 2023 1:32 pm

We are facing the same issue here. Limitation Id: FirefoxAddon
Reinstrumentation did not help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kwalish
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2023 10:19 am

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by kwalish » Fri Jun 16, 2023 8:14 am

Has anyone of you guys opened a support request for this issue? If so, would you mind sharing if there was any response?

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by Stub » Fri Jun 16, 2023 1:22 pm

I have not reported this showstopper yet, no. This was because I am on an older version of Ranorex and assumed they'd just tell me to update, which I don't have time to accomplish right now.

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 515
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Firefox update 114 breaks Ranorex Automation 1.3.5

Post by Stub » Thu Jun 29, 2023 2:16 pm

I just today noticed in Ranorex Spy that my Firefox DOM is being detected again. I looked at the Firefox change history and found this for Firefox 114.2, released on June 20th.

"Web Extensions: Fixes for 114 regressions in our Native Messaging support."

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/1 ... easenotes/