Floating license - new computer - cannot contact license manager

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
HansSchl
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Floating license - new computer - cannot contact license manager

Post by HansSchl » Thu May 27, 2021 7:49 am

Hi,

yesterday we moved the license server to a different computer because we had to take the older computer out of operation. When I started Rx studio, it rightfully complained about this, and let me enter the new server name. So far, all seemed to be going well, but today when I tried to run a test case locally, I received the error message: "The License Manager '<old computer name>' could not be contacted. Please check your network connection and make sure the Ranorex License Manager is running."

When I go to Help -> Licensing, the correct (new) name is displayed. Is there any additional place where I must enter the server name?

Ranorex Studio 9.5.1. on my workstation. I don't now the version of the License Manage running on the other computer.

Thanks
Hans

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Floating license - new computer - cannot contact license manager

Post by Stub » Thu May 27, 2021 8:32 am

Do you have a RanorexLicenseManager.lic file or something like that in your solution? Probably in the root folder.

HansSchl
Posts: 125
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:05 am

Re: Floating license - new computer - cannot contact license manager

Post by HansSchl » Thu May 27, 2021 8:55 am

Yes that was it. Does that mean that the license is compiled into the test? Anyway, problem solved, thanks :D

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 474
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Floating license - new computer - cannot contact license manager

Post by Stub » Thu May 27, 2021 9:40 am

Take a look at the Settings dialog in Ranorex, on the General tab. There's a Runtime group which shows the licence information for Solution and Local.