How to bind multiple data sources in one test case

Best practices, code snippets for common functionality, examples, and guidelines.
haye7889
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:31 pm

How to bind multiple data sources in one test case

Post by haye7889 » Thu Sep 21, 2017 9:37 pm

Is there a way to bind mulitple data sources to one test case?
Example of my test case:
Test Case1
Setup
-IEStartUp (open browser with data source that has multiple testing urls)

- IELogon (Has data source to iterate through multiple email and password logins)

TearDown
-IELogOff (just logs out)

So far, I can only bind one data source to a test case and its either the one that has the login information or the URL links.
The user guide shows just connecting the one data source and I haven't been able to find anything that could help me, so if there is a way to do this, I would greatly appreciate it!

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to bind multiple data sources in one test case

Post by odklizec » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:25 am

Hi,

There is no way to attach multiple data sources to single test case. What you have to do is to use nested SmartFolder for IELogon operation. So the structure of your test should look like this:

Code: Select all

Test Case1 - data source for open browser with multiple URLs
[Setup]
|_IEStartUp - open browser with TC1 data source
    [Logon] - Smart folder with new data source, iterating through multiple credentials 
    |_IELogon 
[TearDown]
|_IELogOff 
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

haye7889
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2017 2:31 pm

Re: How to bind multiple data sources in one test case

Post by haye7889 » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:37 pm

Perfect, I didn't think about using smart folders.
Thank you so much!