How to run recorded tests using Chrome dev or beta versions?

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
albertog
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:33 pm

How to run recorded tests using Chrome dev or beta versions?

Post by albertog » Wed May 18, 2022 9:40 am

Hello,

As the subject says, is there a way to run previously recorded web tests on Chrome dev or beta versions?

OpenBrowser activity has only a "Browsername" argument and no fullpath, and it looks like there is no way to differentiate between Chrome and Dev or Beta versions (although they are on different exe files)

Thank you in advance

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to run recorded tests using Chrome dev or beta versions?

Post by odklizec » Thu May 19, 2022 7:21 am

Hi,

If Chrome allows to install two separate versions of Chrome on the same PC, then I'm afraid, there is no option in Ranorex to tell which one should be used for testing. The only option is to keep installed just one instance of Browser and then Ranorex should not have a problem to run tests with 'Chrome' parameter.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

albertog
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2021 12:33 pm

Re: How to run recorded tests using Chrome dev or beta versions?

Post by albertog » Thu May 19, 2022 8:22 am

Thanks odklizec,
Actually yesterday I've found (maybe for chance) that by selecting "Chromium" as BrowserName then Ranorex will start Chrome Dev, if installed. If you have both Beta and Dev, then it will start Beta version.

I don't know if it is the way it has meant to be, but, anyway, so far so good...

Alberto

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: How to run recorded tests using Chrome dev or beta versions?

Post by odklizec » Thu May 19, 2022 9:07 am

Hi,

Nice to hear you found the workaround. I don't think this is intentional. Just a pure luck? ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration