I am RDPing into a VM
My test has to select items from dropdown lists
which are dependant on each other.
To explain this
I select a value from Dropdown A. This causes the population of the values in dropdown B
This issue I have is that I cannot get the Mouse.Click to action consistantly
I have
Validated that the list item exists
Checked that the item is visible
no scrolling required
My code opens each dropdown using a mouse clickand and then mouse moves to the item.
On drop A the list is visible and I can see the mouse move to the item on 1 dropdown and then mouse click it which does select it
On dropdown B the initial mouse click opens the list but the list does not always stay displayed so although I can see the mouse move to the screen location of the item I want to select and the report indicates that the click has occured and the items has beem selected nothing has been selected .
I've stepped through the code but when I do that it works. As a result I've tried adding delays to see it that helped but whilst it works as I step through running the script at normal speed I still get the no click
Does anyone have any suggestions?
Thank you
Mouse.click not working on item in dropdown list
- Support Team
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12145
- Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
- Location: Houston, Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Mouse.click not working on item in dropdown list
Hello,
Which Ranorex version are you using?
Is it possible to track your item in Dropdown B?
You could use 'Instant Tracking' for this step with 'Ctrl+Win' Key in Spy.
For more information please take a look at section Tracking UI Elements in our User Guide.
Could you please post a Snapshot of your application?
Pleases take a look at section Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files in our User Guide.
Regards,
Markus (T)
Which Ranorex version are you using?
Is it possible to track your item in Dropdown B?
You could use 'Instant Tracking' for this step with 'Ctrl+Win' Key in Spy.
For more information please take a look at section Tracking UI Elements in our User Guide.
Could you please post a Snapshot of your application?
Pleases take a look at section Creating Ranorex Snapshot Files in our User Guide.
Regards,
Markus (T)
Re: Mouse.click not working on item in dropdown list
Hi Markus
My problem has been resolved thank you. I had tried using Select which was able to select the item but then didn't interact with the application and also tried Click which didn't select the item so it was suggested that I Select 1st and then click which appears to do the trick see below
Ranorex.ListItem liitem = Host.Local.FindSingle<Ranorex.ListItem>(xpath, 20000);
if(liitem.Valid)
{
int index = liitem.Index;
ComboBox c = folder;
c.Click();
c.Items[index].Select();
c.Items[index].Click();
My problem has been resolved thank you. I had tried using Select which was able to select the item but then didn't interact with the application and also tried Click which didn't select the item so it was suggested that I Select 1st and then click which appears to do the trick see below
Ranorex.ListItem liitem = Host.Local.FindSingle<Ranorex.ListItem>(xpath, 20000);
if(liitem.Valid)
{
int index = liitem.Index;
ComboBox c = folder;
c.Click();
c.Items[index].Select();
c.Items[index].Click();
- Support Team
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12145
- Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
- Location: Houston, Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Mouse.click not working on item in dropdown list
Hello,
You are welcome
Thanks for posting your solution.
Regards,
Markus (T)
You are welcome

Thanks for posting your solution.
Regards,
Markus (T)