Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
aterrong
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:43 am

Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by aterrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 9:57 am

Hi all,
I'm trying to automate a test in IE11/Ranorex 6.0/Windows 7 Pro.

What I do is click a download button. Then, IE shows an open-save dialog (/form[@accessiblename~'Export']//toolbar[@accessiblename='Notification']).
Then I click in the Save button down-arrow what shows me a new popup menu with 'Save', 'Save as' and 'Save and open' options.

The problem is that when I try to click on 'Save as' option I'm getting this error:
Could not get a valid element rectangle from '{MenuItem:Save as}', since the element is no longer valid.

I even included a delay before clicking but the error is still the same.

Any suggestions?

TIA

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7470
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by odklizec » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:16 am

Hi,

Try to use Instant Tracking instead of standard "Track" button (as described >here<).

Anyway, the xpath for mentioned IE 'SaveAs' button should look like this (I'm using it myself in my tests):

Code: Select all

/contextmenu[@processname='iexplore']/contextmenu/menuitem[@accessiblename='Save as']
Hope this helps? ;)
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

aterrong
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:43 am

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by aterrong » Fri Oct 07, 2016 11:54 am

Thanks Pavel. I already had the XPath in my Repository.

I tried with your Xpath that it's quite similar to mine but it didn't work.

I think that at last in my browser the 'Save as' button has a four-level in depth Xpath. Yours has only three levels.

Thanks again anyway.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by Support Team » Mon Oct 10, 2016 2:54 pm

Hello aterrong,

I tried reproducing the issue on my machine with IE11, but everything seems to work as expected. I was able to open the Save As dialog successfully.

Could you please upload a Ranorex Snapshot of the corresponding UI elements and a compressed Ranorex Report of the failed test execution?

Thank you in advance.

Sincerely,
Johannes

aterrong
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:43 am

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by aterrong » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:43 am

Hi Support Team,
please, find attached requires dfiles: Snapshot and Report.

TIA
SaveAsSnapshot.rxsnp
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

aterrong
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 11:43 am

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by aterrong » Tue Oct 11, 2016 11:50 am

Please, excuse me.
Here you are Report
I had to zip it because I wasn't allowed to upload a rxzlog file. I don't know the reason.
SaveAs_20161011_122127.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Not able to select 'Save as' option in a popup menu

Post by Support Team » Wed Oct 12, 2016 10:00 am

Hi aterrong,

Thank you for providing the files. I'm afraid I still couldn't reproduce the issue although I carried out similar steps on my machine. May I ask to contact [email protected]? I would suggest scheduling a short remote session to analyze the issue on your machine directly.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,
Johannes