Hi,
I am trying to automate a web application which includes an combo box clicling and selecting the values in the drop down list. Combo box is selected is an html tag. I need to click on that particular html tag to open tha drop down box and to select the drop down value while automation. But when i spy the combo box object, I am able to highlight the same object through spy. But when i add the same object into object repository i am unable to highlight the object. this is because I am unable to get the complete Xpath for the object in Ranorex 3.3. This was the the problem in Ranorex 3.2.3. But after i upgraded the version to Ranorex 3.3 i am facing this issue. I use Vb.net. Kindly help me out, how can i get the complete xpath using Ranorex 3.3
Thanks,
Sharath
Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
@Sharath - As of 3.3, Ranorex decided to abbreviate the RanoreXPath for objects. They no longer generate the full RanoreXPath when you add an object to the repository.
You will need to MANUALLY EDIT each object's RanoreXPath in order to get around this new "feature".
I have this same issue.
@Ranorex - Please revert the pathing feature back to the way it was in 3.2. This change is a regression that will cause your customers many hours of extra work.
Due to the nature of some test efforts, path abbreviation is detrimental to testing and actually makes it more difficult to use Ranorex effectively. Besides this, I have found that my tests take LONGER to find objects, even with the new "Unique ID" feature, which is, in fact, NOT unique.
You will need to MANUALLY EDIT each object's RanoreXPath in order to get around this new "feature".
I have this same issue.
@Ranorex - Please revert the pathing feature back to the way it was in 3.2. This change is a regression that will cause your customers many hours of extra work.
Due to the nature of some test efforts, path abbreviation is detrimental to testing and actually makes it more difficult to use Ranorex effectively. Besides this, I have found that my tests take LONGER to find objects, even with the new "Unique ID" feature, which is, in fact, NOT unique.
Shortcuts usually aren't...
- Support Team
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12145
- Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
- Location: Houston, Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hi,
to get back to the 3.2 functionallity, you can add a RanoreXPath Weight Rule for webelements and set the weight for id to a value below 100:
Following link will show you where to add the Path Weight Rule:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tings.html
Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
to get back to the 3.2 functionallity, you can add a RanoreXPath Weight Rule for webelements and set the weight for id to a value below 100:
Following link will show you where to add the Path Weight Rule:
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... tings.html
Regards,
Tobias
Ranorex Team
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
I've also had to revert to the 3.2 xPath using that Weight Rule and webelements are found much quicker.
- Support Team
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12145
- Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
- Location: Houston, Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hello,
There is also another way how you can get back to the 3.2 RxPath.
You have to disable the uid search in the Ranorex Config File.
You will find the file with the following path: "%APPDATA%\RanorexConfig3.xml", there you have to set the "rxpath.enableuidsearch>" to false:
This will be fixed with 3.3.1 and there will be an setting to disable the search with the UID.
Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
There is also another way how you can get back to the 3.2 RxPath.
You have to disable the uid search in the Ranorex Config File.
You will find the file with the following path: "%APPDATA%\RanorexConfig3.xml", there you have to set the "rxpath.enableuidsearch>" to false:
<rxpath.enableuidsearch> False </rxpath.enableuidsearch>The RxPath with the UID is normally much faster than the old way with the full RxPath, but there is unfortunately an Issue with IE which slows it down.
This will be fixed with 3.3.1 and there will be an setting to disable the search with the UID.
Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hi,
As stated by Markus "This will be fixed with 3.3.1 and there will be an setting to disable the search with the UID."
Was this setting added in further versions, i am currently using Ranorex 5.1.1.
Regards,
Aman
As stated by Markus "This will be fixed with 3.3.1 and there will be an setting to disable the search with the UID."
Was this setting added in further versions, i am currently using Ranorex 5.1.1.
Regards,
Aman
- Support Team
- Site Admin
- Posts: 12145
- Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
- Location: Houston, Texas, USA
- Contact:
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hello amang,
The unique ID search can be enabled/disabled within the “General settings” -> 'Enable search by unique ID (if available)'.
Further information about the General settings can be found within our User Guide:
general settings
Regards,
Robert
The unique ID search can be enabled/disabled within the “General settings” -> 'Enable search by unique ID (if available)'.
Further information about the General settings can be found within our User Guide:
general settings
Regards,
Robert
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hi Robert,
When we Track any object we get an Xpath which conatains '\\', not all objects get displayed.
What i want is when i track any object , Ranorex should return me a complete Xpath instead of an Xpath which contains '\\'.
Thanx a lot!!!
Regards,
Aman
When we Track any object we get an Xpath which conatains '\\', not all objects get displayed.
What i want is when i track any object , Ranorex should return me a complete Xpath instead of an Xpath which contains '\\'.
Thanx a lot!!!
Regards,
Aman
Re: Object Xpath in Ranorex 3.3
Hi,
If you want to get the complete (unoptimized) xpath, then go to Global Settings - Advanced Tab and here in RanoreXPath generation mode select Simple option. This option makes Ranorex to generate full (unoptimzed) path. A detailed explanation of RanoreXPath generation modes can be found for example here:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/question-o ... tml#p27265 or here http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... ldMode.htm
If you want to get the complete (unoptimized) xpath, then go to Global Settings - Advanced Tab and here in RanoreXPath generation mode select Simple option. This option makes Ranorex to generate full (unoptimzed) path. A detailed explanation of RanoreXPath generation modes can be found for example here:
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/question-o ... tml#p27265 or here http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... ldMode.htm
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
- Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
- Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
- Ranorex version
- OS version
- HW configuration