Parallel testing of multiple devices

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
cramirez
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:33 pm

Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by cramirez » Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:59 pm

So I recorded my test script. Testing was fine on running it on a Note 2 and Nexus 4.

The problem I'm seeing is that according to the parallel testing of both devices at once, I would have to run a batch script to launch each test by a command line call to the global variable name of the device.

Is there a simpler method to launch simultaneous testing? What if I have 7 android devices connected, do I have to call them all by 1 command line to launch the script? Tell me there's a simpler method :-)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by Support Team » Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:24 pm

Hello,

There is no simpler method to launch several devices simultaneously since it's not recommended.
I suggest you to use a small batch script to run your tests.

Regards,
Markus (T)

Hema
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 12:53 pm

Re: Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by Hema » Mon Dec 14, 2015 2:16 pm

Hi,

Is there any way to execute the scripts on multiple devices in parallel?

Thanks,
Hema

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by Support Team » Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:56 pm

Hi Hema,

I’m afraid that it is not possible to run two parts of your solution at the same time. You would either need to create a separate test for it or to run the tests in series as described by my colleague Markus (T).

Regards,
Markus (S)

tvu
Posts: 195
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 10:47 pm

Re: Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by tvu » Thu Jan 07, 2016 8:28 pm

All the required Ranorex libraries and assemblies are located in the Bin directory according to this page: http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... yment.html.

On RunTime machines, can't we just copy the entire content of the Bin directory to another directory and kick off a parallel test from there? We should be able to start a parallel test via command line by passing in a global parameter identifying a different mobile device.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Parallel testing of multiple devices

Post by Support Team » Mon Jan 11, 2016 10:55 am

Hi tvu,

Sure, you can copy the Bin directory to a different location and start your test again, but this will on the one hand create unnecessary copies of your test solution and on the other hand, you will need one license per device for test execution.

Please find below an extract from our EULA per 2016-01-11
2.1.2 Node-Locked License. Under the terms of a Node-Locked license, Licensee may install and use Licensor’s software on a specified machine. The license is bound to one or multiple machines and user account(s) allowing the use of Licensor's software exclusively on these physical machines. The maximum number of physical machines, including the number of mobile devices used for concurrent mobile test execution, is limited to the number of users provided with the Order. Licensee may not install Node-Locked licenses on any virtualized operating systems, cloud or terminal server environment.

2.1.3 Floating License. Under the terms of a Floating license, Licensee may install Licensor’s software on an unlimited number of physical or virtual instances within a private network. The maximum number of physical or virtual instances and users accessing the software at the same time, including the number of mobile devices used for concurrent mobile test execution, is limited to the number of concurrent users provided with the Order. Licensor provides a license server application used to install, manage and share the licenses within a private network.
Therefore, I'd suggest either using a CI tool or creating a simple .bat file for serial test execution.

Regards,
Markus (S)