Query on parameterization for mobile

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
subhashree
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:20 am

Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by subhashree » Thu Nov 06, 2014 9:16 am

Hi,

for editing the methods and replacing the keyboard press strings, ranorex supports Keyboard.Press() e.g.
public static void SetFirstName()
{
Keyboard.Press(FirstName);
}
public static void SetLastName()
{
Keyboard.Press(LastName);
}

This seems to be desktop supported function. My question is for mobile, which function is used. Quick response will be appreciated.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by Support Team » Fri Nov 07, 2014 2:14 pm

Hello subhashree,

On mobile devices you could use the SetValue()-action in order to pass string values to your elements.

Regards,
Robert

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Mon Dec 15, 2014 3:11 pm

Hello,

Besides the Set Value() - action is there any possibility to just tap on the soft keyboard on Android devices? Or at least to show it on the screen (when it should be there, as in manual testing).

I'm facing this issue: I am trying to record a regression test for a bug: whenever the text boxes are used in a search form and then touch "search", the soft keyboard is still present along with the query results.

During the automated test, when I touch the text box and then use Set Value() the keyboard doesn't show (as on manual testing). Even if I just 'longtouch' the text box, the soft keyboard doesn't show up.

Any help on this matter is highly appreciated!

Kind regards,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by Support Team » Tue Dec 16, 2014 10:34 am

Hello Lucian,

Usually, the Android keyboard is shown whenever it should be shown. So there shouldn’t be a difference between manually or automatically tapping into the text box.

May I ask you to answer following questions?
  • • Which version of Ranorex do you currently use?
    • Which device (+ Android version) do you use?
    • Is the keyboard “disabled” just when tapping specific fields or in general?
Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Robert

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Tue Dec 16, 2014 1:41 pm

Hi Robert,

I use Ranorex 5.2.1.20985 (with a valid licence)
Devices:
Sony Xperia Tablet S, Android 4.1.1
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3, Android 4.2.2

The keyboard doesn't show when I run automated tests and touch text boxes. In fact I've checked this on two different apps. One more interesting situation: in the second app, when it is started, the keyboard is automatically shown, because the text box is activated for username input; then Ranorex Test comes with another touch (in the same text box, in order to set value() of the field) and in that moment the keyboard disappears and then the username is entered. The next step is touch and set value of pass text box: in this case the keyboard doesn't show at all.

I must admit I didn't observed this issue until now (and is happening all the time), although I run a several tests (where text input is necessary) every day.

Kind regards,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by Support Team » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:18 am

Hello Lucian,

I have noticed that you contacted one of my colleagues via email. We are not exactly sure if you were addressing the same issue. Do you need any further help?

Regards,
Robert

lucian.teodorescu
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:58 am
Location: Bucharest

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by lucian.teodorescu » Fri Dec 19, 2014 1:30 pm

Hi Robert,

Yes, I am waiting for a solution for the problem raised by me.
On email it was a slightly different question: if there is any method/workaround to check whether the soft keyboard is visible or not (and the answer is no, there isn't).

I still need that keyboard to show up when I touch the text box, during the automated test.
It would be nice to have options like SetValue() or "softkeypress()"

Thank you,
Lucian
Lucian Teodorescu
NetSun Software

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by Support Team » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:41 am

Hello Lucian,

Thank you for the clarification.

Unfortunately, we are still not able to reproduce such a behavior. I’m afraid that we can’t analyze your issue without your application under test. As a workaround you could still try to us the SetValue()-method in order to enter text to your text box.

Regards,
Robert

AQLIVE
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2014 1:25 pm

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by AQLIVE » Tue Feb 03, 2015 7:58 am

Even better.

It would be awesome if you could add a function that allows all apps (iOS or Android) to interact with the soft keyboard.

The coolest way would be if it could do the following.
1: Enter that value that the keyboard should type when in focus
2: Just select the repository item that it needs to interact with.

Is there a place where we (Renorex automators share code and functions?)

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Query on parameterization for mobile

Post by Support Team » Wed Feb 04, 2015 10:11 am

Hello AQLIVE,

In order to raise a feature request may I ask you to send an email to [email protected]? We want to handle feature request via email in order to avoid misunderstandings.

Please use one of our community sections for exchanging experiences with Ranorex. Especially, the "How to..."-section can be used for sharing code snippets.

Regards,
Robert