Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Ranorex Studio, Spy, Recorder, and Driver.
amitgupta
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:58 pm

Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by amitgupta » Wed Sep 22, 2021 9:17 pm

Dear Team,

When I try to integrate Ranorex Tool With Jenkins. I am getting below attached console output error after running build . Build was successful but execution didn't start .I am Not sure what I did mistake because no issue while building project

Could any team help me on this Please ?
Error :-

ui.sln" (restore;Rebuild target(s)).

Build succeeded.
"C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.sln" (restore;Rebuild target) (1) ->
"C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.csproj" (Rebuild target) (2:6) ->
(ResolveAssemblyReferences target) ->
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\BuildTools\MSBuild\Current\Bin\Microsoft.Common.CurrentVersion.targets(2182,5): warning MSB3245: Could not resolve this reference. Could not locate the assembly "ranorex-webtestlibrary-plugin". Check to make sure the assembly exists on disk. If this reference is required by your code, you may get compilation errors. [C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.csproj]

1 Warning(s)
0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:03.28
Executing : cmd.exe /C webtesting-ui.exe /reportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\%S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog
[webtesting-ui] $ cmd.exe /C webtesting-ui.exe /reportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\%S_%Y%M%D_%T.rxlog
'webtesting-ui.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Build step 'Run a Ranorex test suite' changed build result to FAILURE
Finished: FAILURE

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7425
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by odklizec » Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:21 pm

Hi,

The problem is most probably in command line configuration. I guess you forgot to add workspace variable and path to bin in front of test exe? Please show us a screenshot of run configuration.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

amitgupta
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by amitgupta » Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:01 pm

Thank you for providing valuable time to have a look on query .

I have attached run time configuration snap show with latest error .Could you please have a look on latest error message and guide me for the same .I am just beginner on Ranorex withJenkin process and need your so precious time for executing at least very basic script from jenking tool .

Could you please help me on this please?

error :-
Build succeeded.
"C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.sln" (restore;Rebuild target) (1) ->
"C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.csproj" (Rebuild target) (2:6) ->
(ResolveAssemblyReferences target) ->
C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\BuildTools\MSBuild\Current\Bin\Microsoft.Common.CurrentVersion.targets(2182,5): warning MSB3245: Could not resolve this reference. Could not locate the assembly "ranorex-webtesting-plugin". Check to make sure the assembly exists on disk. If this reference is required by your code, you may get compilation errors. [C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.csproj]

1 Warning(s)
0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:03.93
Reportpath to merge. Base: C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\ Relative: myReports
Merged path: C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports

*************Start of Ranorex Summary*************
Current Plugin version: 1.0.2
Ranorex Working Directory: C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\
Ranorex test suite file: webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui.rxtst
Ranorex test exe file: webtesting-ui.exe
Ranorex run configuration: All
Ranorex report directory: C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\
Ranorex report filename: ${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}
Ranorex report extension: rxlog
Junit-compatible report: true
Ranorex report compression: true
Ranorex zipped report dir: C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\
Ranorex zipped report file: ${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}
Ranorex Test Rail Integration: false
Ranorex global parameters:
*No global parameters entered
Command line arguments:
*No command line arguments entered
*************End of Ranorex Summary*************

Executing : cmd.exe /C webtesting-ui.exe /runconfig:All /reportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}.rxlog /junit /zipreport /zipreportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}.rxzlog
[webtesting-ui] $ cmd.exe /C webtesting-ui.exe /runconfig:All /reportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}.rxlog /junit /zipreport /zipreportfile:C:\SlaveNode01\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\webtesting-ui\myReports\${JOB_NAME}_${BUILD_NUMBER}.rxzlog
'webtesting-ui.exe' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.
Build step 'Run a Ranorex test suite' changed build result to FAILURE
Recording test results
ERROR: Step ‘Publish JUnit test result report’ failed: No test report files were found. Configuration error?
Finished: FAILURE
odklizec wrote:
Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:21 pm
Hi,

The problem is most probably in command line configuration. I guess you forgot to add workspace variable and path to bin in front of test exe? Please show us a screenshot of run configuration.
Attachments
Runconfigurationsetting.JPG
Runconfigurationsetting.JPG (66.96 KiB) Viewed 1372 times

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7425
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by odklizec » Mon Sep 27, 2021 2:48 pm

Hi,

I think there is missing "bin" folder in Ranorex Test suite file/exe input? Please examine the build path on Jenkins VM and fix the path accordingly.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

amitgupta
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by amitgupta » Thu Sep 30, 2021 9:09 pm

odklizec wrote:
Mon Sep 27, 2021 2:48 pm
Hi,

I think there is missing "bin" folder in Ranorex Test suite file/exe input? Please examine the build path on Jenkins VM and fix the path accordingly.
Sir , right now i am getting below issue from Jenkins where i was able to execute script from remote Jenkin slave machine directly but not from Jenkin. any help will be appreciated.
[2021/09/30 12:24:26.800][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger starting.
[2021/09/30 12:24:26.833][Failure][TestSuite]: TestSuite XML format is invalid. Failed to load default plugins. Please reinstall Ranorex. Failed to load plugins from assembly 'Ranorex.Plugin.Win32, Version=10.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b798506b574ebc9a'. Failed to initialize plugin 'win32'. Showing a modal dialog box or form when the application is not running in UserInteractive mode is not a valid operation. Specify the ServiceNotification or DefaultDesktopOnly style to display a notification from a service application.
[2021/09/30 12:24:26.971][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger stopping.
Build step 'Run a Ranorex test suite' changed build result to FAILURE
Recording test results
ERROR: Step ‘Publish JUnit test result report’ failed: No test report files were found. Configuration error?
Finished: FAILURE

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7425
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by odklizec » Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:30 am

Hi,

Unfortunately, it's hard to tell what's wrong without seeing the target machine . It seems to me like corrupted Ranorex installation? So I would suggest to uninstall Ranorex on the target machine and install it back. Additionally, please use the most recent Ranorex version (10.1.1) instead of already obsolete 10.0.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

amitgupta
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by amitgupta » Fri Oct 01, 2021 8:43 am

odklizec wrote:
Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:30 am
Hi,

Unfortunately, it's hard to tell what's wrong without seeing the target machine . It seems to me like corrupted Ranorex installation? So I would suggest to uninstall Ranorex on the target machine and install it back. Additionally, please use the most recent Ranorex version (10.1.1) instead of already obsolete 10.0.
Thank you for giving quick response . I have installed latest ranorex version in target machine .it is building Ranorex project from jenkin but it is not going to execute ranorex project from jenkins and getting some plugin loading issue . But when i go to target machine and open ranorex project which i shown in Build console output in Jenkin , i was able to execute the script from target remote machine .

it is also giving error as test suite file as invalid but we are not creating test suite file and it will automatically created while we try to add test case.

Your help and guidance is highly appreciate if you guide me to execute ranorex simple project from jenkin tool

thank you for providing guidance in advance.
thank you
amit

amitgupta
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2021 7:58 pm

Re: Ranorex Jenkins Test Execution Error

Post by amitgupta » Fri Oct 08, 2021 1:12 pm

Please help me since no luck for getting some good solution to execute only basic script from jenkin (either windows batch command or path of ranorex test suite file )

As learning prospective , we tried to learn/explore continuous integration Process with Ranorex with simple script . but it is not allowing me to execute ranorex project because during execution time, it is throwing error as plugin loading issue occur ,please reinstall Ranorex. My Dummy Ranorex project is building successfully in Jenkins but not executing.

I tried with both method by windows batch command and given Ranorex execution file path but no luck. It is working fine in jenkin target machine by command prompt .

Could you please help me on this if you can . your help is highly appreciated if I get success?

Jenkin Error:- Build succeeded.
0 Warning(s)
0 Error(s)

Time Elapsed 00:00:03.20
[SampleAutomationProject] $ cmd /c call C:\Users\ami\AppData\Local\Temp\jenkins1645982903178513299.bat

C:\JenkinTargetMachine\workspace\SampleAutomationProject>C:\JenkinTargetMachine\workspace\SampleAutomationProject\WebApplicationTesting\WebApplicationTesting\WebApplicationTesting\bin\Debug\WebApplicationTesting.exe
[2021/10/08 05:33:54.329][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger starting.
[2021/10/08 05:33:54.371][Failure][TestSuite]: TestSuite XML format is invalid. Failed to load default plugins. Please reinstall Ranorex. Failed to load plugins from assembly 'Ranorex.Plugin.Win32, Version=10.1.1.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b798506b574ebc9a'. Failed to initialize plugin 'win32'. Showing a modal dialog box or form when the application is not running in UserInteractive mode is not a valid operation. Specify the ServiceNotification or DefaultDesktopOnly style to display a notification from a service application.
[2021/10/08 05:33:54.418][Debug ][Logger]: Console logger stopping.

C:\JenkinTargetMachine\workspace\SampleAutomationProject>exit -1
Build step 'Execute Windows batch command' marked build as failure
Finished: FAILURE

Some time it is giving error on target machine when I run project first time but command prompt but it is working fine with second run time .

amitgupta wrote:
Fri Oct 01, 2021 8:43 am
odklizec wrote:
Fri Oct 01, 2021 6:30 am
Hi,

Unfortunately, it's hard to tell what's wrong without seeing the target machine . It seems to me like corrupted Ranorex installation? So I would suggest to uninstall Ranorex on the target machine and install it back. Additionally, please use the most recent Ranorex version (10.1.1) instead of already obsolete 10.0.
Thank you for giving quick response . I have installed latest ranorex version in target machine .it is building Ranorex project from jenkin but it is not going to execute ranorex project from jenkins and getting some plugin loading issue . But when i go to target machine and open ranorex project which i shown in Build console output in Jenkin , i was able to execute the script from target remote machine .

it is also giving error as test suite file as invalid but we are not creating test suite file and it will automatically created while we try to add test case.

Your help and guidance is highly appreciate if you guide me to execute ranorex simple project from jenkin tool

thank you for providing guidance in advance.
thank you
amit
Attachments
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (34.33 KiB) Viewed 1164 times