Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Ask general questions here.
tgagel
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:50 pm

Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Post by tgagel » Wed Feb 26, 2014 10:58 pm

Has anyone ever seen this before or have an idea on what is happening here? I have a test which works in Firefox but fails in Internet Explorer. In IE when the test tries to click some elements the cursor goes to the 0,0 top left of the screen position. When investigating via Ranorex Spy I see that several elements used in the test show as Visible = False in IE (see IE Spy.jpg) but are visible in Firefox (see FF Spy.jpg). I'm not sure why I'm getting these differing results.

The element is visible in the UI in IE. I also checked with our development team and the HTML is identical between the 2 browsers. Further, using Internet Explorer dev tools shows that these elements are visible (see IE Dev Tools.JPG) on the page, while spy does not.

Thanks.

Todd

IE Spy:
IE Spy.jpg
FF Spy:
FF Spy.jpg
IE Dev Tools:
IE Dev Tools.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Post by Support Team » Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:36 pm

Hello Todd,

Each browser interprets HTML code differently. Ranorex just displays what the browser communicates to us. As a workaround I would suggest that you modify your RxPath as shown below:

Code: Select all

./select/option[@value=$YourValue]	
Instead of the mouse click please perform a “Set Value”-action which links to your Select-tag.
SetValueAction.png
$YourValue stores the elements of the drop-down menu.

Your test should now work on IE as well.

Regards,
Robert
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

tgagel
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 7:50 pm

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Post by tgagel » Tue Mar 04, 2014 7:33 pm

Thanks for the reply. Using your suggestion I am able to get the item selected in IE. Unfortunately the click event isn't fired (selecting an element in the list is supposed to update the values in another list but isn't) using this technique.

Todd

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Ranorex shows same element visible in FF & invisible in IE?

Post by Support Team » Wed Mar 05, 2014 3:57 pm

Hello Todd,

You should be able to click the “OptionTag” after modifying the RxPath. Even if the elements are labeled as “invisible”.
var optiontag = repo.XXXXX.optionTag;
optiontag.Click();
Regards,
Robert