RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AllKnownEndpoints not working?

Mobile Testing, Android App Testing.
zivshapirawork
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 7:47 am
Location: Israel

RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AllKnownEndpoints not working?

Post by zivshapirawork » Tue May 09, 2017 5:02 am

Hi

My method below has been working for over a year, returning the List of mobile devices that are connected to the laptop, that executes the tests. The laptop has only the runner installed (not studio), since it is a CI machine.

After the upgrade from 6.2.0 to 7.0.1, the code compiles successfully, but the returned list is empty, even though 2 iPhones are connected (green) on the 'devices' UI (under Runner settings).

Has anyone encountered this?
:?:

Code: Select all

...
using Ranorex.Core.Remoting;
...
public static ICollection<IRemoteEndpoint> getAllConnectedDevicesCollection()
{
	return (RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AllKnownEndpoints);
}
Thanks
Ziv Shapira

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AllKnownEndpoints not working?

Post by Support Team » Wed May 10, 2017 10:16 am

Hello everyone,

Concerning this forum post we are already in contact with the customer via a support ticket and we will post the solution on the forum once the issue has been resolved.

Regards,
Tomaž

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: RemoteServiceLocator.Service.AllKnownEndpoints not working?

Post by Support Team » Fri May 12, 2017 1:27 pm

Hello everyone,

It is currently not possible to add devices via the "Mobile Devices" panel under "Settings" in Ranorex Studio or in Ranorex Runner. Devices are on their way to be completely replaced by Endpoints. Furthermore, there is currently also no way to add Endpoints in Ranorex Runner. Endpoints must currently be added to the solution in Ranorex Studio.

We are currently in contact with zivshapirawork via support tickets and are looking into possible workarounds. The issue in this forum post would be resolved if it was possible to add Endpoints in Ranorex Runner.

If you'd like to see such a feature in the future, I would suggest to vote for the feature in our online user voice platform. The platform can be found under the following link: Ranorex UserVoice

Regards,
Tomaž