Ranorex seeing the same UI object differently in different builds. Here is the path for one version vs the other.
Version 1.3
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='calibrationPages1']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 0']
/?
Version 1.4
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//container[@controlname='panel1']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='pnlControle']
/table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 0']
/?
What is the best way to handle this? Thanks.
Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
-
- Posts: 169
- Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm
-
- Posts: 169
- Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm
Re: Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
The view from Spy
Version 1.3 Version 1.4
Version 1.3 Version 1.4
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Re: Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
Hi,
Could you please upload a Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) from both versions? Have you asked developers if they changed something in UI. Maybe even different version of UI library?
Could you please upload a Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) from both versions? Have you asked developers if they changed something in UI. Maybe even different version of UI library?
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
- Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
- Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
- Ranorex version
- OS version
- HW configuration
-
- Posts: 169
- Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm
Re: Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
Yes, it looks as if something was changed (again) without telling me about it. It looks like I have to create a second version of the repo items.
Re: Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
Hi,
This is quite normal situation and something you will have to live with
Developers will NEVER inform you about potential UI changes
In my opinion, all you have to do is to make the xpath a bit shorter and so less prone to changes. It's hard to tell without seeing the snapshot, but I would personally go with something like this (instead of creating another version of xpath):
This is quite normal situation and something you will have to live with


Code: Select all
/form[@processname='DrillApp']/container[@controlname~'toolStripContainer']/container[@controlname='contentPanel']//form[@controlname='Pages']//container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']//table[@controlname='itemGridView']/row[@accessiblename='Row 0']
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems
Please add these details to your questions:
- Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
- Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
- Ranorex version
- OS version
- HW configuration
-
- Posts: 169
- Joined: Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:23 pm
Re: Repo item seen different in a minor version change.
While going through it, I noticed for some reason one of the test cases used a different repo item than the rest and it worked. Still not sure why Ranorex chose to build the path the way it did, but I changed all the references to the new reference and both version now work.
Old Version:
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//container[@controlname='panel1']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='pnlControle']
/table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 1']
New Version:
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='calibrationPages1']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 1']
You can see they are close, just one chose to use wildcards in a different location and that makes it work.
Not sure why, but it does.
Old Version:
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//container[@controlname='panel1']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='pnlControle']
/table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 1']
New Version:
/form[@processname='DrillApp']
/container[@controlname='toolStripContainer1']
/container[@controlname='contentPanel']
/container[@caption='']
//form[@controlname='Pages']
/?/?
/container[@controlname='calibrationPages1']
//container[@controlname='panel2']
/container[@controlname='selectedItemBox']
/container[@controlname='SelectedItemSummaryGroupBox']
//table[@controlname='itemGridView']
/row[@accessiblename='Row 1']
You can see they are close, just one chose to use wildcards in a different location and that makes it work.
Not sure why, but it does.
