Screenshots not showing in Report

Ask general questions here.
Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Sun Feb 23, 2014 4:09 am

Hello,
I want to take a screenshot even if a test passes. I was using Report.Screenshot and Report.Screenshot(target) but I dont see the screenshots in the log. What do I need to do to have them show up in the log? Thanks

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:23 pm

I have tried both .rxlog and .html log with no luck.
The only screenshots I see are those taken when there is an exception thrown. None of the ones that I have coded like Report.Screenshot();

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Support Team » Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:38 pm

Mayra wrote:The only screenshots I see are those taken when there is an exception thrown. None of the ones that I have coded like Report.Screenshot();
That's weird, why should some screenshots be shown and other not?

Have you made sure that the Report.Screenshot code is actually executed?
Have you tried putting a Report.Info statement just before and after the Report.Screenshot code?

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:40 am

Actually everything that I have as Report.Log is not getting logged. Everything that is Validate.Exists does get logged. I am putting breakpoints and the code gets executed: Example:

Report.Info("Before screenshot");
Report.Screenshot();
Report.Info("After screenshot");

None of those make it into the log.

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:47 am

I dont know if this is related or not, but before I used to see under Report in the projects section all the generated logs and now I dont. If I right click on it, then I can explore and see all the files. Of course when execution completes it does show me the log.

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:56 am

JustAddToLog1.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:58 am

JustAddToLog2.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Support Team » Mon Feb 24, 2014 6:24 am

Could it be that you set a (minimum) report level of something higher then "Info" in the test suite properties?
If so, please set the report level in the test suite to "Info" to make all screenshots show up in the report.

Alternatively, use the the Report.Screenshot overload that allows to set the report level and set it to the minimum report level (or higher) set in the test suite.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Mayra
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:27 am

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Mayra » Mon Feb 24, 2014 4:08 pm

Thanks Alex. I did not change the setting intentionally, but that is what happened. I had it at warning level and not at info level.
I imagine I can read about these settings in the Documentation.
But in any case, will Info level log everything, my own failures, messages, exceptions,etc?
Thanks again.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Screenshots not showing in Report

Post by Support Team » Tue Feb 25, 2014 8:32 am

Mayra wrote:But in any case, will Info level log everything, my own failures, messages, exceptions,etc?
Setting the test suite report level to "Info" will give you all report messages with a report level of "Info" and higher in the report. The report will not contain an "Debug" messages.
http://www.ranorex.com/support/user-gui ... html#c3024

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team