Spy/Ranorex not seeing my web DOM or links in it (Chrome)

Ask general questions here.
User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Spy/Ranorex not seeing my web DOM or links in it (Chrome)

Post by Aracknid » Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:00 pm

Hi,

First let me say I'm not having ANY issue with Chrome and my app which is a very complex client/server web app. I'm using 8.3.2 and also testing with 9.0.1. All good.

Oddly enough, I'm working on some new test and I had to make a very simple html page, load it in the browser, find the link, and click it. Here's the html page:
<html>
	<head>
		<title>Link Tests</title>
	</head>
	<body>
		<ul>
			<li><a href="http://www.google.com">Google</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.bing.com">Bing</a></li>
			<li><a href="http://www.yahoo.com">Yahoo</a></li>
		</ul>
	</body>
</html>
In IE and FireFox (ESR v60.5), it works perfectly fine. In Chrome (72), it doesn't work. When I launch Spy, it doesn't even see the DOM.

Again, this is using 8.3.2 and 9.0.1

Any thoughts?

Aracknid

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 6781
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: Spy/Ranorex not seeing my web DOM or links in it (Chrome)

Post by odklizec » Thu Apr 11, 2019 7:15 am

Hi,

If Spy does not detect DOM, it indicates a problem with Chrome plugin. Have you tried another web in Chrome and eventually, uninstall/reinstall Chrome plugin (via Ranorex instrumentation wizard)? Also, are you sure the other browsers and not whitelisted and therefore, Chrome is eventually blocked? ;)

I tried your HTML code in Chrome (via www.w3schools.com) and Ranorex 9.0.1 spy detects both DOM and all links as expected.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

User avatar
Aracknid
Posts: 374
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 3:23 pm
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Re: Spy/Ranorex not seeing my web DOM or links in it (Chrome)

Post by Aracknid » Thu Feb 04, 2021 5:50 pm

It has been a very long time since I have responded to this, but this is actually still an issue for me. I'm bringing it up because I've needed to make more scripts that load a simple "launcher.html" with tons of links, and they are simply not working in Chrome or Edge (chromium).

Today I tried with the newest 9.4 version of Ranorex and still not working. It has never worked in any version since I posted originally. There is nothing wrong with the Ranorex Chrome plug-in, since ALL my automation works. And you can test this easily (assuming you can recreate the issue) by manually clicking a link and then spying on the new page. For example, If I load the example html from original post into Chrome (currently using version 87) and Spy on the page, there will be no DOM. If I click the link to go to Ranorex and refresh the Spy tool, everything is fine.

There is something about this simple page that either Chrome or Ranorex doesn't like... is there something I need to add to the HTML to make it work? Is it just too simple?

Here's the slightly different HTML I used for the testing I did with the screen shots below.

Code: Select all

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
	<head>
		<meta charset="utf-8">
		<title>Link Tests</title>
	</head>
	<body>
		<a href="http://www.ranorex.com">Ranorex</a></br>
		<a href="http://www.google.com">Google</a></br>
		<a href="http://www.microsoft.com">Microsoft</a></br>
	</body>
</html>
Links working in IE.jpg
This is working in IE and you can see the links in the DOM
Links working in IE.jpg (117.47 KiB) Viewed 294 times

Links not working in Chrome.jpg
This is not working in Chrome and you cannot see the DOM and there is a technology limitation warning
Links not working in Chrome.jpg (143.59 KiB) Viewed 294 times

Links for Ranorex site working in Chrome.jpg
In Chrome, click the link to Ranorex and you can see the DOM and everything works.
Links for Ranorex site working in Chrome.jpg (244.98 KiB) Viewed 294 times

User avatar
Stub
Posts: 450
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Spy/Ranorex not seeing my web DOM or links in it (Chrome)

Post by Stub » Fri Feb 05, 2021 9:12 am

I feel your pain. I thoroughly detest having to use Chrome or Edge because of that missing DOM connection. The thing we found was that being logged into the Chrome Store on the browser was utterly essential for it to work. Sometimes an uninstall/reinstall would fix it too, IIRC - certainly one of our QA folks had problems where it didn't work first thing in the morning, but she could get it operational later. That was last Summer though, so my recollection is hazy. I gave up on Chrome and Edge in disgust I'm afraid - just not willing to waste my time over it, which I realise is of no help what-so-ever. Absolutely no idea why it works in some cases but not others.