Subclassing Role and Adapter

Ask general questions here.
JoshHeitzman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:58 am

Subclassing Role and Adapter

Post by JoshHeitzman » Tue Apr 07, 2009 2:02 am

If I were to subclass Ranorex.Core.Role and Ranorex.Adapter is the there currently away to have the Ranorex tools (Spy, Recorder, etc.) make use of my extensions as it would the built-in Role class and the various built-in Adapter derivations?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 08, 2009 12:18 pm

Subclassing those classes does not work;
However, there is a plugin interface where new stuff can be added.
We plan to release a mini-SDK in the future which will cover this topic.

Michael
Ranorex Team

JoshHeitzman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:58 am

Post by JoshHeitzman » Wed Apr 08, 2009 5:46 pm

Any ETA for the release of that mini-SDK?

As for the statement "Subclassing those classes does not work", I see that Ranorex.Core.Role is sealed; however, Ranorex.Adapter does not appear to sealed.

Does Ranorex.Adapter have some methods, which are necessary to call when implementing a derived class, marked as internal?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Support Team » Wed Apr 08, 2009 6:22 pm

Sorry, no ETA yet for the Plugin SDK.

To your question:
Of course you can subclass "Adapter" or the existing Adapter classes if you want to add specific functionality or "remix" existing functionality; but the tools wont be aware of it. For this to work, things need to be added "under the hood", which requires implementing a "FlavorPlugin" and dependent bits.

Is there anything special you want to accomplish by creating your own plugin?

Michael
Ranorex Team

JoshHeitzman
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 1:58 am

Post by JoshHeitzman » Wed Apr 08, 2009 6:25 pm

Support Team wrote:Sorry, no ETA yet for the Plugin SDK.

To your question:
Of course you can subclass "Adapter" or the existing Adapter classes if you want to add specific functionality or "remix" existing functionality; but the tools wont be aware of it. For this to work, things need to be added "under the hood", which requires implementing a "FlavorPlugin" and dependent bits.

Is there anything special you want to accomplish by creating your own plugin?

Michael
Ranorex Team
It would be so that we could create adapters for our in-house developed UI elements and have the Ranorex tools make use of those adapters when spying or recording.