Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Ask general questions here.
gannias
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by gannias » Tue Apr 30, 2013 7:26 pm

We're using Telerik controls.

The problem is that the text in the header row seems to be unaccessible by ranorex. (Snapshot attached)
I need to get to the text of the cells in the header row.

Image


var grid = mainForm.FindSingle("/form[@controlname='FrmMain']" +
"/container[@controlname='radDockMain']/container/container/container[@controlname='FrmPatientSearch1']" +
"/form/container[@controlname='radGvPatients']/table[@accessiblename='radGvPatients']");

var cellObj = grid.FindSingle("/form[@controlname='FrmMain']/container/container/container/container/form/container/table/row/cell[1]");

Any help would be appreciated.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by gannias on Thu May 02, 2013 5:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by Support Team » Thu May 02, 2013 8:57 am

Hello,

Unfortunately I cannot find a Ranorex snapshot file.
Could you post it again in order to analyze the issue in detail please?
Thank you!

Regards,
Bernhard

gannias
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by gannias » Thu May 02, 2013 10:29 pm

re-attached the snapshot

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by Support Team » Fri May 03, 2013 3:53 pm

Hello,

Thank you for your snapshot.

Have you installed Ranorex with all prerequisites by using setup.exe?
Could you please try to download and install the extended version of Microsoft .NET Framework 4?

Please take a look at General Troubleshooting for WinForms in our User Guide.
This might help to solve your issue.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Markus (T)

gannias
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by gannias » Wed May 08, 2013 7:18 pm

Yes, I have all the prerequisits installed.

Can you help me get the needed info out of this control?

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by Support Team » Fri May 10, 2013 4:41 pm

Hello,

Could you please try to get your header text with Microsoft Inspect?
If it was still not possible, UI automation might not be implemented correctly.
Is it possible to get text from other rows?

Another possible way to get this text could be by using GDI.
Please take a look at our User Guide how to add the class/process to GDI Capture List.

Regards,
Markus (T)

gannias
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 5:50 pm

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by gannias » Fri May 24, 2013 4:35 pm

Support Team wrote: If it was still not possible, UI automation might not be implemented correctly.

Regards,
Markus (T)
Hi Markus,

What do you mean not implemented correctly?

Thanks!

User avatar
Support Team
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12145
Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 4:30 pm
Location: Houston, Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Telerik Grid View - getting the header row text

Post by Support Team » Mon May 27, 2013 3:19 pm

Hello,

Microsoft UI Automation is the accessibility framework for Microsoft Windows.
UI Automation provides programmatic access to UI elements on the desktop. The accessibility has to be implemented for each control in order to provide access for the test automation Frameworks like Ranorex. In some cases the UI automation is not implemented. If this is the case Ranorex is not able to access the control.

If the UI automation is not implemented Microsoft inspect is not able to recognize the control properly as well.
That's the reason why Markus asked you if Microsoft inspect is able to recognize the element.

I hope it is a little bit clearer now.

Regards,
Bernhard