Page 1 of 1

Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 3:02 pm
by tester2010
I have checked for the plug-in add on in FF and IE and have the ranorex module added to our site
1. We have Ranorex premium and Ranorex professional installed on 2 remote boxes – rem01 and rem02 respectively.
2. We have edited the way we include support via Ranorex for flex/flash object tracking and now use the Ranorex module.
3. On one of the remote boxes we DO NOT get the flash/flex warning popup and are able to track 90% of the objects without any issues. There are still problems with 10% of the objects.-Rem01 – Ranorex premium installed. Example of an object unable to be tracked is attached.
4. On the other remote box, we cannot track any objects using the Ranorex spy and get the attached pop up warning – rem01 – Ranorex professional installed.

I have 2 questions---

1. Why the discrepancies in the object tracking on 2 boxes? I am using the same website on both and the same browsers.
2. I REALLY NEED this resolved soon as it is seriously messing up my project timelines.
3. Why can’t I track all objects on the box that does not show the pop-up?

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:36 pm
by Support Team
ad 1) The difference is that one Firefox instance shows the status bar and one does not - took us some time to realize that this really makes a difference :D
It seems that when the status bar is not shown, the Ranorex Firefox plugin is not correctly loaded and consequently Flex objects won't be identified inside Firefox either. Please, set Firefox to show the status bar by checking "Status bar" in its "View" menu. We will try to remove that requirement in a future Ranorex release.

ad 2) Be assured that we always give our best to solve issues our customers have with our product :)

ad 3) That seems to be an issue with the Flex AdvancedDataGrid. We are currently investigating that problem and will report back when we have a solution or status update.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 5:58 pm
by tester2010
Thanks Alex! I appreciate the prompt response.

Enabling the status bar, solved the first issue.

I will send you the remaining info shortly.

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Thu Aug 12, 2010 9:22 pm
by tester2010
I have emailed you the source code for the Flex AdvancedDateGrid and it did work with previous versions of Ranorex.

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 3:17 pm
by tester2010
Here is the code for the advanced grid and item renderer
<mx:AdvancedDataGrid id="aCartGridItem" variableRowHeight="true" creationComplete="removeTrialText();"
horizontalScrollPolicy="off" verticalScrollPolicy="off" sortableColumns="false" draggableColumns="false"
dragMoveEnabled="false" resizableColumns="false" sortExpertMode="true"
folderClosedIcon="{null}" folderOpenIcon="{null}" defaultLeafIcon="{null}"
rollOverColor="#efeaea" horizontalGridLineColor="#ffffff"
width="100%" height="{cartGridItemData.length * 40 + 180 }"
headerHeight="40" styleName="cartDataGrid" paddingTop="10"
itemOpen="hideOtherGridRows(event);showGridRow(event)"
editable="true">
<mx:dataProvider>
<mx:HierarchicalData source="{cartGridItemData}"/>
</mx:dataProvider>

<mx:columns>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn width="25" editable="false" paddingLeft="5"/>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn id="descriptionColumn" dataField="description" headerText="Item" editable="false" minWidth="190" wordWrap="true" />
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn id="removeColumn" headerText="" editable="false" minWidth="60" textAlign="center"/>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn dataField="qty" id="qtyColumn" headerText="Quantity" editable="true" minWidth="100" editorUsesEnterKey="false"
rendererIsEditor="true" editorDataField="value" textAlign="center"/>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn id="priceColumn" headerText="Item Price" minWidth="80"
editable="false" textAlign="center"/>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridColumn id="subTotalColumn" headerText="Item Total" minWidth="80" fontWeight="bold"
editable="false" textAlign="center"/>
</mx:columns>

<mx:rendererProviders>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridDescriptionItem" column="{descriptionColumn}" />
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider depth="1" renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridRemoveItem" column="{removeColumn}" />
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider depth="2" renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridPhotoItem" columnIndex="0" columnSpan="2"/>
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider depth="1" renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.MyNumericStepper" column="{qtyColumn}" />
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridPriceItem" column="{priceColumn}" />
<mx:AdvancedDataGridRendererProvider renderer="ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridTotalItem" column="{subTotalColumn}" />
</mx:rendererProviders>
</mx:AdvancedDataGrid>



We specify the grid, identify the columns, and then bind columns to an item renderer where necessary for custom UI rendering. Here is the Remove item renderer, ezp.ecommerce.controls.GridRemoveItem:


<mx:LinkButton label="Remove" click="removeItem(data.projectId)" styleName="textLink" paddingTop="0" paddingLeft="0" paddingRight="0"/>

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 3:44 pm
by tester2010
I still haven't received any useful update on this after sending every piece of code possible from our end.

Please look into this and let me know how to fix it.

Re: Cannot Spy on Flex Objects

Posted: Wed Aug 18, 2010 6:30 pm
by Support Team
Sorry, but we were not able to get the code running, neither to reproduce that issue with a sample application of our own. It seems that this weird AdvancedDataGrid behavior only happens on the "ecommandsandbox.aspx" page; the same data grid works fine on the "Cart.aspx" page. This could be caused by the way how modules (and in particular the RanorexLoader module) are loaded in your application.

One of our developers responsible for Flex support should have already got in contact with you via email and will try to further investigate on that problem.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team