Page 1 of 1

Error when instrumenting android app

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:00 am
by thilina
Error when instrumenting android app

i get below error during the instrumenting of the app.

Code: Select all

System.Exception: Failed to recompile the instrumented code. See details for more information: 
W: C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res\drawable-hdpi-v4\barcode_btn_64x48.png: libpng warning: iCCP: Not recognizing known sRGB profile that has been edited
W: C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res\drawable-hdpi-v4\ic_add.png: libpng warning: iCCP: Not recognizing known sRGB profile that has been edited
W: C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res\drawable-hdpi-v4\mwl_shadow.png: libpng warning: iCCP: Not recognizing known sRGB profile that has been edited

W: C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res\values-v24\styles.xml:7: error: Error retrieving parent for item: No resource found that matches the given name '@android:style/Animation.OptionsPanel'.
W: 
W: C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res\values-v24\styles.xml:8: error: Error retrieving parent for item: No resource found that matches the given name '@android:style/Animation.LockScreen'.
W: 
Exception in thread "main" brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec (exit code = 1): [C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_3337884665805429366.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --min-sdk-version, 16, --target-sdk-version, 23, --version-code, 1000001, --version-name, 4.173.0.30, -F, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL4356024055081820788.tmp, -0, arsc, -0, dat, -0, cfg, -0, dat_chunk_4, -0, arsc, -I, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\apktool\framework\1.apk, -S, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res, -M, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResourcesFull(Androlib.java:473)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResources(Androlib.java:407)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:306)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.build(Androlib.java:263)
	at brut.apktool.Main.cmdBuild(Main.java:224)
	at brut.apktool.Main.main(Main.java:84)
Caused by: brut.androlib.AndrolibException: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec (exit code = 1): [C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_3337884665805429366.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --min-sdk-version, 16, --target-sdk-version, 23, --version-code, 1000001, --version-name, 4.173.0.30, -F, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL4356024055081820788.tmp, -0, arsc, -0, dat, -0, cfg, -0, dat_chunk_4, -0, arsc, -I, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\apktool\framework\1.apk, -S, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res, -M, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.java:439)
	at brut.androlib.Androlib.buildResourcesFull(Androlib.java:459)
	... 5 more
Caused by: brut.common.BrutException: could not exec (exit code = 1): [C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\brut_util_Jar_3337884665805429366.tmp, p, --forced-package-id, 127, --min-sdk-version, 16, --target-sdk-version, 23, --version-code, 1000001, --version-name, 4.173.0.30, -F, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\Temp\APKTOOL4356024055081820788.tmp, -0, arsc, -0, dat, -0, cfg, -0, dat_chunk_4, -0, arsc, -I, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\apktool\framework\1.apk, -S, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\res, -M, C:\Users\thi.SL\AppData\Local\RanorexStudio6\RxEnv\Android\temp\decomp\AndroidManifest.xml]
	at brut.util.OS.exec(OS.java:95)
	at brut.androlib.res.AndrolibResources.aaptPackage(AndrolibResources.java:433)
	... 6 more

   at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.Instrumentation.ApkFileInstrumenter.CompileApkFile(String sourceApkFilePath, IPathService pathService)
   at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Utils.BackgroundWorkerSupported.ExecuteBgwCode[TArg0,TArg1](BgwDelegate`2 methodDelegate, Int32 doneProgress, String progressText, TArg0 arg0, TArg1 arg1, BackgroundWorker bgw)
   at Ranorex.Plugin.Mobile.Tools.Android.Instrumentation.ApkFileInstrumenter.Instrument(String apkFilePath, Int32 port, InstrumentApkOptions deployOptions, BackgroundWorker bgw)
   at Ranorex.Controls.Instrumentation.Workers.AndroidWorker.Run()
   at Ranorex.Controls.AndroidInstrumentProgressPage.bgw_DoWork(Object sender, DoWorkEventArgs e)
i'm using Ranorex 6.1.1

Re: Error when instrumenting android app

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:27 am
by odklizec
Hi,

Ranorex 6.1.1 is way too old (over year old) and no longer supported. I would recommend to update to Ranorex 7.2 and check if the problem still exists in this version. The only other thing you can probably do is to search this forum for similar topics and try the solutions suggested in these posts.

Re: Error when instrumenting android app

Posted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:39 pm
by Support Team
Hello thilina,

Thank you for posting in the Ranorex forums.

I believe that odklizec is correct that this could be related to the older version of Ranorex studio, so we need to see if the issue is still occurring using the latest version of Ranorex studio. Please contact Ranorex support for download instructions if you would like to attempt to try a new version.

I is also recommended that you contact [email protected] If you continue to run into this issue with the latest version.

Sincerely,

- M. Kendall McIntosh
Automation Support Engineer

Re: Error when instrumenting android app

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 5:41 am
by thilina
could fix this by updating the apktool manually to latest version.

apktool is here
C:\Program Files (x86)\Ranorex 6.1\Bin\RxEnv\Android\tools\apkTool

after that make sure to delete 1.apk below as well
%UserProfile%\AppData\Local\apktool\framework