Page 1 of 1

Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Wed Feb 12, 2014 7:25 pm
by htrudel
During execution of test recordings, my Android device (emulator) status reported by Ranorex in the Devices windows changed to Error. I tried to refresh its status in Ranorex and after 2-3 seconds, it goes back to Error.

I tried all of the following without success:
  • Restarting our Android App.
  • Restarting the Android emulator.
  • Restarting the Ranorex Android Automation Service.
  • Restarting adb server.
  • Restarting Ranorex Studio.
I then tried simply to logoff/logon to my computer (no reboot), restart the Android emulator, Ranorex studio, and now it works again.

Understanding/Fixing this issue is very important to us since we plan using an equivalent setup to run test automatically at night.

Addition: I forgot to mention that I tried to start the browser in the Android emulator and it did not work. It as if the network connection stopped working (and required logoff/logon in order to be functional again). Thus, not a problem with Ranorex but happened while using Ranorex.

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:10 am
by lilyjoin
When trying to run/debug an Android app on a real device (Galaxy Samsung S in ... spaces, according to Failed to install apk on device 'emulator-5554': timeout.
allmobilespec.com

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:26 am
by Support Team
Hi,

In order do analyze your issue, please provide following information:

Which Ranorex version to you use?
Which emulator do you use?
Which Android version do you use?

With this information we can check if there are any known issues which may be already solved and if your current Ranorex version fully supports your Android version.

Thank you in advance!

@lilyjoin

Did you follow the steps in the Android Documentation.
Did you install the Ranorex Service App on your emulator device? If you've done so, can you see the id for the simulator inside the Device Wizard?


Regards,
Robert

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:16 pm
by htrudel
Hi,

I am using Ranorex version 4.1.5.17134.

Android Emulator:
  • Nexus S (it is the most stable emulator).
    CPU/ABI: Intel Atom (x86)
    Version 4.3 (API level 18)
    Android SDK Manager - Intel x86 Atom System Image rev.1.
Again, I think the issue is not related to Ranorex. It looks more like an emulator issue.

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:34 pm
by Support Team
Hi htrudel,

As you already mentioned this issue is not related to Ranorex. There were currently no similar cases reported to us. We on our part aren’t able to reproduce such a behavior neither. Nevertheless, there may be some other users which experienced the same behavior willing to help you further.

Regards,
Robert

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2014 5:00 pm
by htrudel
Thanks.

We are currently evaluating Genymotion Android emulators to see if they are more stable.

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:37 pm
by lucian.teodorescu
Hello,

Is anyone using Genymotion? I have some VD running, but when I try to find them in Device Manager>Android>Emulator nothing is listed.

All devices are in developer mode and all other settings recommended by User Guide.

Ranorex Studio 5.2
Emulated device:
Sony Xperia Tablet S Android 4.1.1 API 16 (1280*800, 160dpi)

Thank you,
Lucian

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Wed Nov 19, 2014 6:00 pm
by htrudel
Hi,

Our developers here are using Genymotion with some success.

But in test automation, since there is so many inconsistencies with the emulator, we are now running our nightly tests using a real tablet. We found that

I personally use the emulator only when I need to develop/troubleshoot a test automation recording.

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 10:00 am
by lucian.teodorescu
Hi Hugo and thank you.

The issue that I face is that the emulator is not found by Ranorex. So I cannot connect and at least try it.

Best regards,
Lucian

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Thu Nov 20, 2014 12:56 pm
by lucian.teodorescu
Hi,

I've finally managed to connect my Genymotion emulator, but via Network Connection not via USB.
After the selection of the emulator in Network Connection list it remained disconnected. Then I've edited the IP (in Genymotion you have the IP of the emulated device right on top bar of the window).
And it's working fine.

Kind regards,
Lucian

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 8:36 pm
by gilbar16
lucian.teodorescu wrote:Hi,

I've finally managed to connect my Genymotion emulator, but via Network Connection not via USB.
After the selection of the emulator in Network Connection list it remained disconnected. Then I've edited the IP (in Genymotion you have the IP of the emulated device right on top bar of the window).
And it's working fine.

Kind regards,
Lucian
Hi,

I don't quite get this why connect via USB or Network instead of Emulator.
Is this because this is from an older version of Ranorex?

Thanks.
Gilbert

Re: Android Emulator Device Error (communication error?)

Posted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 11:56 am
by Support Team
Hello Gilbert,

Whether the emulator is listed in the emulator section within the Instrumentation Wizard depends on how your emulator is accessible. All emulators which are accessible via localhost:XXXX are usually listed within the emulator section, but they can also be added using the, e.g., USB section.

Kind regards,
Robert