Page 1 of 1

Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 12:00 pm
by terax
Is there a way to pause a running test when running it through Ranorex?

I want do pause the running project and do some operation.


Thanks

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:11 pm
by Ciege
Add a breakpoint.
Add a message box to you code.
Add a thread.sleep method to your code.
...

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:55 am
by terax
These way is ok, but not good. If there is a button in Ranorex that can pause the running project, it will be great.

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Wed Jan 05, 2011 9:35 am
by sdaly
Depending on how you control and run your tests - you can create a new thread to run the tests and have control over that thread. You can then create a button on your controller to suspend and resume the thread in which the tests are running on.

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2011 11:22 am
by Support Team
The problem is not pausing a running test, but resuming the test afterwards. Before resuming the test, you have to make sure that the desktop has exactly the same state as before, e.g. that the same window is active as before pausing the test, the correct control has focus, the keyboard has the correct modifier keys held down, and so on. This is a hard, if not impossible thing to do If we allowed to pause a test at arbitrary positions.

However, we might add a feature to pause a test at certain positions, e.g. in between actions of a recording. In order to pause user code, you might then need to add a line of code that tells Ranorex it is safe to pause execution at this location, for example "BreakPoint.Create()". I filed a feature request for this issue.

Regards,
Alex
Ranorex Team

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:07 pm
by cxkf
Support Team wrote: If filed a feature request for this issue.
Has anyone taken action to implement this feature?

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 5:11 pm
by Support Team
Hello,

This is unfortunately not part of Ranorex at the moment. There is already a feature request in our bug tracking system, but due too less customer requests it was not implemented until now.
I will add an entry in order to discuss this feature again.

Regards,
Bernhard

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 6:34 pm
by odklizec
Hi Bernhard,

Please add another vote for this feature. Just today I was in a need to pause the running test to be able to debug a crash in aut. Stopping the test caused some problems with debugging so I had to add a long delay to RX test to be able to "pause" the test and debug the aut. Simple "pause" would be really helpful.

Re: Is there a way to pause a running project?

Posted: Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:58 pm
by Support Team
Hello,

Thank you, I will add this vote to the feature request.

Regards,
Bernhard