Page 1 of 2

Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:19 pm
by vengaishiva
Hi,
I am having an application which uses dev express Xtra tree list. I need to expand all the nodes in tree list.
Here is my code

Control tree="rxpath";//Line 1
tree.InvokeRemotely(callexpandall);//Line 2

Exception "The element does not support required capability control" comes in the first line itself.
I have validated the rxpath with spy and it is correct.
I can't extend the treeview control since the application is already built. Also i cant post the screen shot because of security reasons. Expecting your help.
Regards,
Siva R S

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:31 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

As suggested by Alex yesterday
http://www.ranorex.com/forum/writing-a- ... html#p8461
Please read the documentation links inside this post.

As the exception states "The element does not support required capability control" means "The element does not support required capability control". You cannot Invoke on every control.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 3:49 pm
by Ciege
You may not even need to use an Invoke with the Tree List.
We also use Dev Express controls and with the tree list you can expand and collapse the tree using the numpad +, -, *.

+ will expand the selected branch
- will collapse the selected branch
* will expand the selected branch and all children branches

So, if you verify that those keys also work on your Dev Express tree control, all you will need to do is click the root Node (node 0) then use the keyboard input to type a numpad *.

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:33 am
by vengaishiva
Hi,
Thanks for your reply. I can expand and collapse the nodes. But my problem is, i want to find a descendant item if the root node is given. Is it possible? Any help regarding this?
Regards,
Siva R S

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 7:52 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Therefore please look to following link
http://www.ranorex.com/Documentation/Ra ... endant.htm

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 9:51 am
by vengaishiva
Hi,
I have tried several possibilities. But what am getting is a tree item, the Text of tree item is 'Node 0'. Am not getting the original text in the tree node.
Also it says that there are no descendants for this tree item ,even though there are descendant items in the application.
I have tried the Find Descendant method but it threw an exception of 'Element not found'. :(
Regards,
Siva R S

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:27 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Have you analyzed the tree with Ranorex Spy yet?
Please check your tree with Ranorex Spy and check if you have the correct RanoreXPathes in your code or repository.
Even a Ranorex Snapshot would be very helpful to help you with this issue
How to create a Ranorex Snapshot

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 10:57 am
by vengaishiva
Hi
Thanks for the quick reply. I have analyzed the tree with spy. Here is what i see on spy
-Tree 'treelist1
--+Element 'HeaderPanel'
---Element 'Data Panel'
Now Within Datapanel, there is a TreeItem 'Node 0'.
Within the tree item node 0 , there is nothing. But the application has nodes within it. Also the node's name is not 'Node 0' .
I am using Ranorex 2.3
Thanks,
Siva

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:50 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Could you please post us a Ranorex Snapshot too?
Create Ranorex Snapshot

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:24 pm
by vengaishiva
I have attached the snapshot. As you can see it contains Tree item node 0 and there are no descendants for it. (the cell is the text of node 0)

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 2:33 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

According to the screenshot inside the Snapshot, I saw you created your own application with this tree.
Would it be possible to provide us the application too? Because we cannot narrow down the problem with the Ranorex Snapshot.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2011 4:05 pm
by Ciege
vengaishiva wrote:Hi
Thanks for the quick reply. I have analyzed the tree with spy. Here is what i see on spy
-Tree 'treelist1
--+Element 'HeaderPanel'
---Element 'Data Panel'
Now Within Datapanel, there is a TreeItem 'Node 0'.
Within the tree item node 0 , there is nothing. But the application has nodes within it. Also the node's name is not 'Node 0' .
I am using Ranorex 2.3
Thanks,
Siva
When viewing the tree items in Spy, (I.e. TreeItem Node 1) is it grayed out? Are you unable to expand the item in Spy and see the Cells below it? If so, is your tree node visible in your AUT. In our DevExpress tree you cannot access any information from the tree nodes that are not visible on the screen. So we must use the numpad * to expand the tree in the AUT then we are able to access the data from within the nodes. With only Node 0 expanded in the AUT it looks something like this:
Tree 'treeListEx1
-> Container 'Header Panel'
-> Container 'Data Panel'
-> -> Tree Item 'Node 0'
-> -> -> Cell 'Foo'
-> -> -> Cell Bar
-> -> Tree Item 'Node 1'

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 7:02 am
by vengaishiva
Hi Cieg,
Thanks for your reply. I can expand using numpad keys. Is it possible for me to get the original text on the node. Because Ranorex is showing it as node 0.
Regards,
Siva R S

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 10:04 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Ranorex shows you the value which is provided by the control.
Could it be that there is an element underlying the tree which represents the text of your tree node?

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Element does not support control in dev express tree list

Posted: Thu Apr 21, 2011 11:17 am
by vengaishiva
Hi,
As you can see in the snapshot attached by me in this thread, the node contains a cell, but still i can't find the original name of the node. I tried type casting the cell to a text element, but failed. How can i get the original value from the node?
Regards,
Siva R S