Page 1 of 1

"The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:22 am
by timbuethe
Hi,

I have the following problem: We use NAnt & Hudson/Jenkins to compile and run Ranorex tests automatically. When doing so, some modules aren't executed and the following error message is printed:

Code: Select all

The module 'SomeModuleName' (with ID {b22cf739-754d-4bfe-9e52-cb893fb95791}) could not be found.
I checked the compiled dll (using a decompiler) and they contain the searched classes. I also searched for the ID mentioned above and can find them in the .rxrec file:

Code: Select all

<recordtable id="..."
In the .vb file:

Code: Select all

<TestModule("..."
as well as in the test suite (.rxtst):

Code: Select all

<testmodule ... ref="..."
Could somebody give me a hint what is causing the problem? Is there something I have to keep in mind when compiling outside Ranorex?

Thanks,
Tim

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:36 am
by Support Team
Hi,

please tell us how the call of the test module whcih can not be found looks like.
Do you call the executable or do you use the test suite runner?
Can you please provide us your test uite file (.rxtst), or even better your whole project?
You can either attach the file to your next forum post or send it to our support mail box ([email protected]).

Kind regards,
Tobias
Support Team

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 11:03 am
by timbuethe
I just sent an email containing the whole project as well as an nant.build file we use to compile it.

EDIT:
The mail was rejected, I just resent it in three parts

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:56 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

thanks for providing your solution.
At the first look everything seems to be ok.
Please make sure that the module which has been not found is in the runcofig.
Also make sure, that dll reference is on the right place.
Which module can't be found within your solution?

Regards,
Tobias
Support Team

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:34 pm
by timbuethe
I sent you a mail once again. Maybe we can move this conversation to email and just post the solution here?

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 1:46 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

of course we can move this conversation to our support mail box.

Regards,
Tobias
Supprt Team

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:49 am
by leon
Hi there

I am getting the same error.

This is the situation:
I am building my solution on PC A [where everything runs perfectly - from the test suite as well].
When I run the exe on PC B - I get this error.

If I open the project on PC B and run from the test suite - I still get this error although I can run from the test suite from PC A. If I run the recording module from PC B, I do not have any issues

History:
The same test suite and exe's ran successfully on PC B a week ago without any issues. The only difference that I know of is that we activated a new Windows 7 key on PC B, now I am not sure if this is the reason why it is not working.

I see no resolution of this issue on the forum - just that you guys moved the issue over to email - hence my post

Thx
Leon

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:11 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

Are you also using NAnt & Hudson/Jenkins to automatically compile and run Ranorex tests?
Which Ranorex version are you using and could you please also send us the full error message?
Are you working with C# or VB code files?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2012 1:56 pm
by leon
Hi

No, I am not using NAnt & Hudson/Jenkins - I just used this post to comment on my issue iso creating a new issue

I'm running in ranorex studio 3.0.5.13548

The error is eg : "The module 'Interaction_Tab_Select' (with ID {f5a66278-86ac-42c6-92ce-7cead1deb5af}) could not be found"

Regards

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:17 pm
by Support Team
Hi,

Could it be that your project is located on a network drive, if so please copy all the files on a local drive, as mentioned on the following link: General Troubleshooting.
Did you already try it with the actual Ranorex version which is 3.3.2?

Regards,
Markus
Ranorex Support Team

Re: "The module ... could not be found" when run outside Ranorex

Posted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:49 pm
by orbistest
Have you found an answer to this problem?
I am suffering something similar.
I have created a module group in one project and wish to use it in another project. My colleague has no trouble doing this. Whenever i try I get the same sort of "Module ... with id ... is not found" message.

Any help appreciated.

Kevin