Page 1 of 1

Missing error behaviour

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2012 1:54 pm
by jpo
Hello,

we use the following structure for our tests:

Code: Select all

Master Test Suite
  TestCaseA (DataConnectorA; Iterations)
     TestCaseA_Step1
         TestModule (DataBinding to DataConnectorA; TM fails)
     TestCaseA_Step2
         TestModule
     TestCaseA_Step3
         TestModule
  TestCaseB
     TestCaseB_Step1
         TestModule
     TestCaseB_Step2
         TestModule
     TestCaseB_Step3
         TestModule
Note: The use of TCs for a fragmentation into test steps is made due to the possibility to have a description of each step and to attach various data connectors logically.

Anyway the problem is the error behaviour in this case of structuring.
If the TM in "TestCaseA_Step1" fails there's no way to stop the "TestCaseA_Step1" and start with the next iteration of "TestCaseA".
If I set the error behaviour of "TestCaseA_Step1" to 'Stop', the whole TestSuite stops (thats not what I expect, better name would be "Stop test suite").
What we realy need is a 'Stop' that stops and fails the current TC and then go to the next superior hierarchy level and use thats error behaviour.

What I would expect:
  • TestCaseA (Continue with sibling); TestCaseA_Step1 (Stop)
    An error in "TestCaseA_Step1" stops and fails "TestCaseA_Step1"; next "TestCaseA_Step2" within the same iteration is executed.
  • TestCaseA (Stop); TestCaseA_Step1 (Stop)
    An error in "TestCaseA_Step1" stops and fails "TestCaseA_Step1" and "TestCaseA"; next "TestCaseB" is executed.
  • TestCaseA (Continue with iteration); TestCaseA_Step1 (Stop)
    An error in "TestCaseA_Step1" stops and fails "TestCaseA_Step1"; next iteration of "TestCaseA" is executed.
  • ...
I think there's a strong need for extended error behaviour settings---also for the test suite itself!

Re: Missing error behaviour

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:50 am
by Support Team
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. I will add your requirements to our internal bug tracking system.

Regards,
Peter
Ranorex Team

Re: Missing error behaviour

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 11:08 am
by jpo
Thank you Peter for adding our request.
We hopefully look forward to see that feature in a future release.