WPF Toolbar Overflow

Technology specific object identification, supported applications, web technologies, and 3rd party controls.
Frerik
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:02 am

WPF Toolbar Overflow

Post by Frerik » Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:11 am

Hello,
we have a standard WPF toolbar with a button I require for a test. The toolbar has the standard overflow and overflow button. I would like to make the test robust against window resizing, which means that the button either occurs in the toolbar or in the toolbar overflow.

I had a look with the spy at both scenarios and noticed that the overflow panel is not a child of the toolbar, not even of the same window. This seems to make it impossible to specify a meaningful path to catch both possible locations.

An easy solution would have been to be able to provide an alternative path: "Look here first if not found, look here". This seems not possible at the moment.

Any hints on how to proceed here?

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: WPF Toolbar Overflow

Post by odklizec » Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:12 pm

Hi,

Could you please post a Ranorex snapshot (not screenshot) of the toolbar, ideally both in state the button in question is visible and invisible? Without, at very least snapshot, it’s pretty hard to suggest something sensible. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Frerik
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:02 am

Re: WPF Toolbar Overflow

Post by Frerik » Fri Jul 02, 2021 11:51 am

Edit: Hmm no I did not upload them yet, there is the following error message when I try to do so: "Could not upload attachment to ./files/34697_51ab595ad9302ffb526c5c6b3bab79b8." I will keep trying.

Edit 2: I tried to zip them which leads to the following error message: "Failed to move uploaded file." I am running out of ideas. I will just try later again I suppose.

Thank you for your reply! I have uploaded the requested snapshots. These snapshots cover the cases where the button is visible in the toolbar and the case where it is visible in the overflow popup of the toolbar.
I can't provide a meaningful snapshot for the case that the button is not visible because it does not exist in the visual tree for this case.

I will be out of office for the next two weeks so further responses from me will be delayed. I will come back to this topic afterwards and I am happy about any help.

User avatar
odklizec
Ranorex Guru
Ranorex Guru
Posts: 7469
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 9:54 am
Location: Zilina, Slovakia

Re: WPF Toolbar Overflow

Post by odklizec » Fri Jul 02, 2021 12:05 pm

Hi,

Unfortunately, the forum attachment system is currently broken. So please upload the relevant files to google drive, one drive or similar file sharing service and post here a link. Thanks.
Pavel Kudrys
Ranorex explorer at Descartes Systems

Please add these details to your questions:
  • Ranorex Snapshot. Learn how to create one >here<
  • Ranorex xPath of problematic element(s)
  • Ranorex version
  • OS version
  • HW configuration

Frerik
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:02 am

Re: WPF Toolbar Overflow

Post by Frerik » Fri Jul 23, 2021 6:24 am

We decided to fixate the window size during our tests, so this is no longer an issue for us.
Thank you for your time!